SPU Poetry Contest #5: A Prison Of Our Choice

in #poetsunited7 years ago

Everyday I crawl my way to the wall
And scribble my confessions on the wall

You may prison my soul and stave my bones
But you can’t quench the fire in my bones

Then I stretch my eyes to reach the window
And with hunger look across the meadow

I lift my face for a ray of sunlight
Scraping to get enough to last the night

I see the man I can become walk by
“Somebody please give me freedom,” I cry

And every night I walked back to the bed
And close my eyes to the key on my bed

This is my entry for the SPU Poetry Contest #5 by @poetsunit.

It was inspired by two lines from An Alternate Reality by @poetrybyjeremy "

Enclosed within cool walls of concrete

through the only window, I peak,

Image source

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Thanks for using #artzone tag! Artzone can give just one upvote per day!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work