Poetry Dice Entry: Break Free

in #poetrydice6 years ago

Break Free

One Monday morning,
I woke up feeling blue;
daily routine awaits.

These blue feelings
overflew,
set to motion wild thoughts
that were unstoppable
like a fast-flowing river.

Called my boss
and told him that I quit;
liberation -
my soul broke free.

My wrists feel strange
without the cold metal shackles;
a couple of steps and I lost balance -
these feet have forgotten how to walk.

I went to lie in a meadow
amongst the flowers,
bees and butterflies;
climbed on a tree
for my eyes to see,
the colourful world
that is calling me.

With just a backpack
weighing down my shoulders,
I set out to travel
from a country to another,
like a butterfly
fluttering between flowers
on a sunny Spring afternoon.

In diverse corners of the earth,
I found scattered pieces of myself;
pieces that I had never looked for.

My gleeful heart is like a fridge magnet,
it finds home in all these foreign places.


Courtesy of Pexels

Prompts

This poem was written for the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000: Week 27. The main theme was Beginnings, and the following table shows the Image prompts and how I used them in the poem.

Image (Dice)Words in Poem
Sleep"woke up"
Sad Face"feeling blue"
Bridge/River"fast-flowing river"
Flower"flowers"
Tree"tree"
World"world"
Magnifying Glass"looked for"
Magnet"fridge magnet"
Alien/Mask"foreign"

Join the Steemit Poets United on Discord

Designed by @mental-extract

Join The Isle of Write on Discord



The Isle of Write logo was designed by @PegasusPhysics


Join Steemit's LGBT+ Discord (click image)

Sort:  

The two most powerful parts of this piece in my opinion are this one :

In diverse corners of the earth,
I found scattered pieces of myself;

I love the imagery of the mental scatteredness becoming something tangible like william wallace's body.

And this last part is just brilliant it is quirky and just plain awesome :

My gleeful heart is like a fridge magnet,
it finds home in all these foreign places.

For some reason I thought we had to rhyme so I, who usually never rhymes wrote a rhyming one how funny is that ^^

Thank you for your comment!

I only rhyme for contests as well, and it's brutal! In previous weeks, rhyme was not necessary, and I am sure that it is not a requirement now either. Having 9 prompts is already a challenge; forcing a rhyme would kill it. You might have gotten that idea as 'rhyme' is listed as one of the judging factors. I suppose that, if a poem uses a certain rhyme, there would be judging notes on how well it rhymed or how much it failed to rhyme. Best would be to ask the contest holders, obviously.

Yeah that where I got the idea from ;) It's all good I know better now and I had a challenge which actually does me good ;) - LOL just thought it comical that I who almost never rhymes sem to be the only one who wrote a rhyming piece - how crazy is that ;) but hey if life throws you lemons right?! - :D

If others have not wrote a rhyming piece, they are also people who almost never write rhyming pieces :P

There was rhyming contest and I failed twice so I stopped participating. It's just not for me!

nods, I like to push myself from time to time I just think rhyming often makes us sound like Leprechauns ^^

@poetrybyjeremy,

Brutal!

Doth thou jest?

Jeremy ... you're lucky you live in a Crusader Castle in Malta.

You wanna know what brutal is? Let me tell you what brutal is.

Writing a poem ... in Ballad Meter (short, tight stanzas) ... with not just rhymes at the ends of lines 2 and 4 ... but also with internal rhymes in lines 1 and 3 ... all for the purpose of making "Lawyers Sound Noble."

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/two-swords-same-length-poem-a-lawyer-s-ad-and-the-science-behind-the-art

That, my bloody Crusader friend ... is brutal!

I can't say I blame you though. You're the one with a fistful of pesos and I'm the one struggling to get four hours of sleep.

"My wrists feel strange
without the cold metal shackles;
a couple of steps and I lost balance -
these feet have forgotten how to walk."

"In diverse corners of the earth,
I found scattered pieces of myself;
pieces that I had never looked for."

I love this poem, it's a reminder of what's really important! Thank you Jeremy :)

Wish I had any voting power left...

Thank you! The comment is always more meaningful than a vote, but seriously, how do you run out of voting power?? When I get to the 60% I take a break haha. You need a whole week away from reading and upvoting probably haha

No doubt! I have to watch that ;D

I get that there's a lot of good material on here, but I have to leave my votes for the best. That's why I almost never vote on comments too, unless they're super super good!

That... is a very good point, I'll definitely adopt that policy!

Of course I'd like to appreciate the comments in kindness, but I would rather be able to vote on one of your posts than upvote your comments :P

10 votes per day is quite restricting

It really is... saving them for posts definitely makes sense :)

Do you know the lines I love so much?

In diverse corners of the earth,
I found scattered pieces of myself;
pieces that I had never looked for.

I just buried my mind in your poem.... I love poet that write from inspiration,not necessarily making rhymes....

Another great piece from a great poet @poetrybyjeremy

Thank you. Indeed, there is always a lot more potential when you do not restrict yourself to rhyme; instead, enslaved to the emotions.

Oh! I love it @poetrybyjeremy this is magnificent. This piece covers the vastness of one's dreams in life. So many desire to just walk away and break free of the chains not only on our wrist but our minds. It was an illness that led me to my independence forcing me to stay home and find gainful employment on the internet. But something else happened it also led me back to me and my authentic self and I love the world that I live in now just as this poem describes. You knocked this one out of the park.

This comment put a wide grin on my face! I am glad that my poetry manages to convey what I sought to convey. I'm in my last year of university and there is a huge inner need to find balance between education/employment and living life. Hopefully, I'll be able to choose my future with great liberation and freedom. For some of us, we first come in connection with our authentic selves then break free gradually. For others, it just bottles up and upon breaking free, we get to learn our authentic selves.

Thank you once again for your kind comment.

Nothing better than releasing the prisoner spirit. Because many times it is not the physical body that is tied to daily obligations.
Beautiful poem and congratulations to winner, friend @poetrybyjeremy.

Indeed, our bodies are only as free as our minds allow them to be. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85