You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poetry Dice Entry: Break Free

in #poetrydice7 years ago

The two most powerful parts of this piece in my opinion are this one :

In diverse corners of the earth,
I found scattered pieces of myself;

I love the imagery of the mental scatteredness becoming something tangible like william wallace's body.

And this last part is just brilliant it is quirky and just plain awesome :

My gleeful heart is like a fridge magnet,
it finds home in all these foreign places.

For some reason I thought we had to rhyme so I, who usually never rhymes wrote a rhyming one how funny is that ^^

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment!

I only rhyme for contests as well, and it's brutal! In previous weeks, rhyme was not necessary, and I am sure that it is not a requirement now either. Having 9 prompts is already a challenge; forcing a rhyme would kill it. You might have gotten that idea as 'rhyme' is listed as one of the judging factors. I suppose that, if a poem uses a certain rhyme, there would be judging notes on how well it rhymed or how much it failed to rhyme. Best would be to ask the contest holders, obviously.

Yeah that where I got the idea from ;) It's all good I know better now and I had a challenge which actually does me good ;) - LOL just thought it comical that I who almost never rhymes sem to be the only one who wrote a rhyming piece - how crazy is that ;) but hey if life throws you lemons right?! - :D

If others have not wrote a rhyming piece, they are also people who almost never write rhyming pieces :P

There was rhyming contest and I failed twice so I stopped participating. It's just not for me!

nods, I like to push myself from time to time I just think rhyming often makes us sound like Leprechauns ^^

@poetrybyjeremy,

Brutal!

Doth thou jest?

Jeremy ... you're lucky you live in a Crusader Castle in Malta.

You wanna know what brutal is? Let me tell you what brutal is.

Writing a poem ... in Ballad Meter (short, tight stanzas) ... with not just rhymes at the ends of lines 2 and 4 ... but also with internal rhymes in lines 1 and 3 ... all for the purpose of making "Lawyers Sound Noble."

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/two-swords-same-length-poem-a-lawyer-s-ad-and-the-science-behind-the-art

That, my bloody Crusader friend ... is brutal!

I can't say I blame you though. You're the one with a fistful of pesos and I'm the one struggling to get four hours of sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64