Steemit Poetry Contest #7 + Winners of #6!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #7 - Home




About Prizes:


First Place - 15 SBD

Second Place - 10 SBD

Third Place - 5 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - December 10 7:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #6



1st Place - "My Sister's Hero" by @johnwjr7 Too touching to pass by!



There are many definitions

of what a hero could be

And from my sister's description

that hero could be me



You see my sister needed a kidney

back in nineteen ninety-five

And if it wasn't for me donating

she wouldn't be alive



I really don't feel like a hero

it's just something I had to do

But I do get a warm sensation

when she tells me, "I love you"






2nd Place - "The Heroes we Admire and Aspire to be" by @rayne122 This poem "hooked" me...



Hero, it means "Demi-God" in Greek.

Sometimes considered a human and sometimes a freak.

What makes a hero is not the power inside,

but the courage, nobility and humanity that reside.



Seas of hope and skies of despair,

No wonder why true heroes are rare.

Right now, heroism is what everyone need.

Some will fail and some will succeed.



A hero is who with a smile in his face,

doesn't waver what's the case.

Many fails to become just like he.

But don't worry, there is a hero in every 'me'.






3rd Place - "Ode to My Cane Cutting Grandma" by @nicholas83 I never thought that I could like prose so much!



Her scars are beauty

Meandering across place and time

Callused, lacerated, are my hero’s hands

A stick in your left. A cutlass in your right.



My hero has no statue. She has no plaque. No prize

I write these lines for her. Who. Now. Is in fleshless form.

Your cutlass echoes... Jesus… your garb as lily white as his skin.

Your burdens are as heavy as his.



My hero carries sugarcane on her head.

Home. In the dimness of dusk, where young ones wait

A callused, lacerated palm caresses each face

After she has set her stick and cutlass aside.





Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Sir i have me own pottery but in urdu language can i eligible .if not then please make these kind of contest in which i present other language pottery

Hello. Sorry for delay, I do not know the Arabic language, but I tried to solve this issue ... After talking with my friend, we came to this decision - maybe it will somehow help the Arab community

https://steemit.com/poetry/@clixmoney/win-1-steem-dollar-from-steemit-poetry-contest-1-by-terrycraft

Sincerely, Terry Craft.

Wow! 1st Place. Thanks for that. I thought there was something wrong with my Steem Dollars. I had to double check to see what was going on. This really does inspire me to continue trying. Now I need to let me sister know about it. She'll be thrilled.

That was a very touching poem. It's like hearing a short story of yours. :)

Well done man. I look forward to your next poem.

Thank you. I am actually working on it right now. I don't know if he will allow me to win 2 weeks in a row, but that is the goal I am shooting for.

Hello! The poem really hits into the heart! Winning two times in a row? Is quite real :)

I'm not sure if we need to put the link to our entry here but just in case here it goes: https://steemit.com/poetry/@chiarambottino/the-title-must-be-steemitpoetrycontest-7-what-is-home

I hope you enjoy it, this theme made me think a lot about what the word means to me.
Thank you @terrycraft for creating this contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50