Poetry Dice Challenge # 3: Labyrinth Of Souls (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

If you haven't seen Pan's Labyrinth the movie you must check it out.
It is one of a kind. Anyway, here is my entry. If you aren't familiar with the rules of the poetry dice challenge, the objective is to write a poem using the images of each dice in the order that they are organized. The interpretation of using each image for each line is open but still must have some relative connection to the image on the dice. Here is the photo provided by @robyneggs


Deep somber slumber, Death's blinding kin, induces many sleep holds

Imaginative nightmares imprint like walking canes in fresh, deep snow

The coldness of the world burns a frostbite stronger than flames

There are entities who prey your death and want your soul to claim

"Drink the fountain of youth!" They'll coax you in darkness with lies

They'll lead you to tops of skyscrapers and drop you to your demise

Their extensions of black magic shoot out luminous orbs

This rabbit hole leads to imminent death, curving nowhere you're confused corpse

No matter which direction you go, this compass is barbed with war...


Thank you for reading this post in its entirety.
Special Thanks to @robyneggs for this amazingly creative and wonderful challenge. I'm really honored to be able to participate. She is helping to nurture so much creativity and growth through the poetry community and should be acknowledged. Best of luck to everyone's entries. Hope you enjoy my gif interpretations of the dice images, as well as my poem.

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Hey there great poem, a dark and desperate subject of darkness which unfolds !! here is my latest post where I mention you ) https://steemit.com/music/@gomeravibz/gomeravibz-lets-rip-on-a-supermoon-jam-session-in-norway

Hey man! I was just about to get to your post and reply back in steemit.chat, been slightly side tracked today but I'm going to check out your post right now. Thank you very much for showing up in the comments section, I'm glad you enjoyed this poem. I will add the poetry dice image from now on so people can see the challenge of the images I have to include in the poem in the order the dice were rolled and which images they landed on.

The Poetry Dice needs more competitors. Thanks for joining and good luck!

Yes I agree. It's a great challenge indeed. Thank you for the warm welcome. I also look forward to your entry of you haven't done so already. Good luck to you as well.

Your entry looks like a winner to me. Your clever use of the cane was an early clue you have something great going on here.

Thank you once again. I still can't get over how creative this challenge is. Hopefully both of our poems will place.

New and improved with suggested actions to be taken located at each side of the image!

Impossible, it's even better than before! Thank you very much for the updated version! Can I please have the code to update all of my posts?

Right click on the GIF and copy the image address, that should work.

But, I'll still send it to you in chat just to make sure.

Okay thank you, I got the hang of it and updated all the posts I could. Be on the look out for Chapter 10 soon :) I'll be reading your Chapter 6 today.

Most Excellent @verbal-d and thank you for your recognition! :-) What a lovely and demented entry. ;-0

I'm glad to see this contest picking up some steem.

Great thinking and well done on getting this one going!

You're most welcome, it is well deserved to acknowledge your efforts. I'm glad you enjoyed the scenic environment I created, but I blame it on the dice lol. It just told the perfect storyline for this kind of poem.

I am already anxious to see what the dice are next week. When is the beginning of each new challenge?

It's Thursdays :-) I work but try and post that night with the winners. Just need your entries (no more than 3) in by then...like 3pm (PST)). XO :D

Nice, as a suggestion, I've seen others tag challenges in contests to get more exposure and support. Maybe it could benefit yours as well. Oh and three entries is too many for me, expect only one for each week :) thanks for the info.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thank you for the update

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30