Moonshine

in #poetry7 years ago

Despite the cloudless state of the heavens,
An unmistakable smell of pending snowfall prevails.
I know not what provoked that left turn onto
This nameless back road, save my itinerant thoughts.
Could I have been more careless in not assessing
The contents of the trunk in the last two years?

What I would give for a spare tire and
The comforting warmth of my own bed at this moment...

Mea culpa
Why am I always thinking in sarcastic tongues?

At least forty miles from everything, I appraise the
Option of bunking in the car to await rescue,
Then tarry not in zipping my jacket before beginning
My foolhardy trek into the darkness of the beyond.
The night panders an eerie silence, compounding
Forgotten fears that threaten to rise up in untimely rebellion.

I whistle, attempting to dissuade their efforts

A faint light in the distance affects a loosening of my nerves
Until it is partially obscured by a motionless silhouette.
My sudden intake of icy air burns my lungs, and I muffle a cough
Into my scarf, trying not to attract attention prematurely.

The next eighty-seven steps are forced, though I long for
An effectual remedy to my current predicament.

My pulse quickens with the reverberation of his greeting,
Although my mother’s voice blares a warning inside my frozen head.
I’m suddenly agog to discover the source of this calming voice.

Once perched by his Buck Stove, I offer a lame rendition
Of the evening’s events, omitting the highlights of my cowardice.

His eyes are moody sapphires.

I sip the liquid fire hesitantly, noting the intricate floral pattern near
The rim of the cup while my thumb studies the chip in its handle.
He moves a bit of my hair away from my reddening face
With a softness I cannot recall ever having encountered.

The emulsion created by chemistry and curiosity
Is undoubtedly temptation.

I consider myself stranded until further notice.

Copyright 2017, Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

blue-night-1252017_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

I love it. Yes!!!!@tinajordan. You write a myriad of words forming a myriad of thoughts in just a few sentences/paragraphs. This is a condensed, compressed, compact short story if I've ever seen one. BRAVO!!!

Thank you! That means so much to me!! <3

Oh awesome ..no rescue needed there LOL

Thanks :D I had fun writing this..

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations @tinajordan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You do such a wonderful job of making me feel like I am part of the moments.

Thanks @debralee :) That means so much!

seeking light and warmth and acceptance. Nicely done

Thank you, John :)

At first, I thought this was an allegorical poem about problems but by the end, I hoped romance was in the air. I enjoyed this poem a lot... not too many long words and a lovely plot. Bravo!

Thank you my friend :)

This post has received a 9.26 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @tinajordan

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74