CEMETERY GATES (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

1475706774224988e511.gif


Slowly walking
~up~
the
hill
along the gate.

I look
~up~
to the moon
and I see
those gates.

The cemetery is full
with lonely spirits,
the graves keep them
~behind~
the gates.

Mountains of dead paupers
underneath the ground,
all
~hiding behind~
the gates.

They quietly whisper,
no one can hear them;
dead branches
~hanging over ~
the gates.

The spirits turn around
in their mass graves;
they do not rest
~behind~
the closed gates.

No one dares
to disturb
the peace of the spirits
~locked up~
behind the invisible gates.

I ask myself,
where is my mind?
This metal brain
~made up~
these gates.


Image Credit - Edited Here

Follow me @serejandmyself for more

You are welcome to visit my personall webiste

Sort:  

I'm thinking upvote now and avoid the rush!

Thanks for the upvote!

Cemetery Gates is a song by Pantera. Where is My Mind is a song by the Pixies. I still enjoyed the poem, I just wasn't sure if you were aware of this.

Man those two songs bring back some memories.

I had not noticed that!

@serejandmyself - Here are the music videos for those two songs, in case you were unaware:


PANTERA - Cemetery Gates


THE PIXIES - Where is my Mind?


Whether those titles were included intentionally or not, I like the poem, and if they were intentional, perhaps it is even more creative.

Nice work.

I'm actually hearing the song for the first time guys, so it was not intenionall! =)

The song is awesome, loving it!

I wasn't sure if you were familiar with Pantera, but figured that you might enjoy it since you like System of a Down.

Oh, I know a couple of songs, but didnt know this one =)

Great, glad to be able to share it with you.

Dimebag Darrell actually died on my birthday some years back, just like John Lennon did so many years before.

Very beautiful poem! :) The depth and complexity was certainly captivating. Very well done.

Thanks for the kind words mate! Glad you enjoyed it

Cemetery Gates was a song from the mid 80's by The Smiths. Oddly enough it was about plagiarism. Now I'm not saying there's any plagiarism in your poem - if there is it's definitely not from this song. I'm just saying 'there's always someone somewhere with a big nose who knows.'

Please read the comments above...

To my knew aquired knowledge the name was used by many bands.
Having listened to those songs, I do not find anything familiar in my work to them.

In fact if you dig on deeper and read the piece, you will see that the meaning is completly different.

Thank you for the comment

Please don't misunderstand me, I absolutely wasn't accusing you of plagiarism, your poem is nothing like any of these songs that I'm aware of, and stands out as a great work in its own right. The truth is there are so many songs / poems in existence that I imagine its more or less impossible to give any new work a totally original name. Just pointing out the coincidence thats all. :-)

The quote was from the song. I was a big fan of The Smiths at the time, although this track is far from their best work, one of Mozza's more pretentious efforts.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43