'Scotch on the Rocks' > Collection of Poems

in #poetry7 years ago

Robyn Eggs and Toast Presents:

scothc_8_robyneggs.jpg

"Scotch on the Rocks" - Sick Volume 8

by
Robyn Eggs
with a sprinkling of love...

1rst EDITION. October 5th, 2017

PUBLISHED BY:
Robyn Eggs and Toast
robyneggsandtoast @ gmail.com
1RobynEggs_LogoSM210.jpg

Scotch on the Rocks
Sick Volume 8
Copyright © 2017 by Robyn Eggs
All Rights Reserved. Not for reproduction or republication.
*Expressly written permission may be obtained from the publisher (at the above email address) for personal use. A 50 STEEM deposit will be required.



Table of Contents

  1. Scotch on the Rocks
  2. Don’t Sleep
  3. Bitches
  4. Love
  5. Roll the Dice
  6. Wine and Posies
  7. Daring Retreat
  8. Whence We Went
  9. Special Thought
  10. Just One More Beer
  11. Sick Candy Lust
  12. Triple Gulps
  13. A Cherry Tree
  14. Long Lips
  15. Magic Is All Around
  16. Part II Sick Candy Lust
  17. The Story of Slim
  18. Stop And Smell the Roses
  19. This Day
  20. Conviction


No. 1 - Scotch on the Rocks

Scotch on the rocks
Of which
I had
Too much of
Last night it was the clocks
Who had
One up on me
Some saw too much of
The tattoo
Which I had
Received earlier before my scotch
And so what!?
So I threw it back
So what?
I’m kind of like that
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 2 - Don’t Sleep

Don’t sleep
Don’t blink
Don’t dress in pink
Just keep what’s real
And don’t think
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 3 - Bitches

Bitches
Twisted stitches
Hind quarters & pain kisses
Listen
I’m here to say
Don’t go away
Don’t chicken out
Just stay…you’ll say
I’m crazy
But the pain is wave hazy
Bitch!
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 4 - Love

Love
Bring on the trainwreck
Bring it on
The whistle howls
Voices ring as
The background forms
Behind me, behind us
Your kisses are like fire
On the wind my love---
Once you watched me
Fly away, I a small
Piece of diamond sparkle
Falling on the wind

We learn
We learn to carry
Things in our hands
We learn to hold
Onto what we treasure
And after awhile
Our hands become accustomed
To the weight
To the gravity
Of consequence
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 5 - Roll the Dice

Roll the dice
Play the dice
Turn of face
Luck of the draw
Sweet music speaks
Out to me as I
Jam on through the galaxy
Intent
Mild contentedness
Lurks,
Irrelevant to the game
Speak out to me
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 6 - Wine and Posies

Wine and posies
Mixed notes are chosen
And we pick and choosie
While we stick our fingers in our noses
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 7 - Daring Retreat

Daring retreat
A slow defeat
Leave me once
I left you once
Can I be free
From your monstrosity?
Red boots
For winter snow
What I am
You may think you know
What have I to show?
Nothing is left to grow
The sound of the garden dying
Is the sound of me
Running through the snow
I’m crying to let you know
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 8 - Whence We Went

Whence we went wandering
The sky opened to us
We were there to behold it
They were there for us
Earwax and old dirt
Lingers on my hair
The crud accumulates
As I lay here aware
Where have you gone?
They’ve taken you out of my sight
What are they doing to you?
Are they making you get high?
My mop is shiny and wet
Now that I’m next to you
We’re down here on the ground now
The sky has returned to blue
What will we tell them now?
Whence we went wandering
We encountered hell
And they are spawning
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 9 - Special Thought

Dedicated to Jason
A green checkerboard
Driveway reveals…
A green expanse of song
That is dulled by
Concrete-for what we know
From experience
May prove to be concrete
And where were we?
When that tiny space
In time allowed us
To be parked
On the green grass
Of heaven; allowed us
That place of sincerity-
Where were we because
When we weren’t there
I know where we were…
We were separate patches
Of grass separated by concrete
Blocks of a driveway
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 10 - Just One More Beer

One more beer for the road home
One more mile ‘til I’m home
Took that road and drove
Sunk in that ditch by the grove
How fucked up can I get?

And once we’re there
We’ll party here
Underneath the dock of the bay
Somewhere on the way
To getting fucked up at home

Just totally fucked up
Did I sleep it off yet?
One more tequila, please
And a fancy brunette

Hey, how fucked up can we get?
I don’t know let’s try
Just one more beer
And I’ll pee myself dry
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 11 - Sick Candy Lust

Sick candy lust
Conqueror of someone
Else’s dust
To trust is to fall
Never entrust your heart
To any or all
Much less to the
Demons of lust
A poor man’s heart
Lies where he does impart
And who’s to notice
That his choice is worthless
But dirt and sick candy lust
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 12 - Triple Gulps

Triple gulps at a time
Get me warmed up
And I’ll do fine
Once again I find
Torture sublime
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 13 - A Cherry Tree

A cherry tree
Blooms in the spring
And so I see
The beauty that it brings
But their blossoms never fall
Far from the tree
Of insanity
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 14 - Long Lips

Long lips
Are a solar eclipse
Over the mouth of my mind
Your hips are swaying
My mind is caving
And as I touch myself
I’m forgiving

What I’m seeing
And feeling is relenting
And so self-fulfilling
Truthful time
Is sent down
In rhythmic motion
My mind rhymes—
Listening to dreams

And treats of the subconscious
Control and take over my mind
Sublime
Are your lips
Wrapped about mine
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 15 - Magic is All Around

Magic is all around me
Jazzy music is all about me
I drift towards the bar
Whether it be near or far
I’ll get there sooner or later…

Love floats by in bubbles
They choke up my throat
With troubles
As a woman of contact
I need a contract
To control these floating emotions

Cherry wood sets the mood
On the cabin beneath the moon
It’s peaceful now
The wind has died down
I’ll get there sooner or later...
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 16 - Part II Sick Candy Lust

Prim, prideful, candy lust
Has once again
Stirred up the dust
Dreams have come
And dreams have gone
And when the day
Is gone and done
Someone will have
Been with me again
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 17 - The Story of Slim

“I begin again”
So said Slim
To the man next to him
“And what of today?”
Said the man covered in hay
With his work boots on
And a swagger
And a sway
“That, I shall worry about
Tomorrow” said Slim
As he swallowed—
His whiskey drink, borrowed
“And another thing Slim”
Eddy began again
With a patient grin
“No more for you Eddy”
(he has had plenty)
Slim thought to himself, ready
“Just one more line”
He said for the seventh time
His hat out of balance
And his shoes untied
“Look, I know you don’t
Have a dime” said Slim
As he reached for the lime
Eddy didn’t ask a second time
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 18 - Stop & Smell the Roses

The puddle on the side
Of the road through life
Is a collection of human pride
And human strife
Every time it rains
I pause by the way
Not to smell the false roses
Not to stay
And not to be Moses
Because I’m the individual me
But to inspect this puddle
Vibrating with each tear drop
And dip my toe
In the muddy rubble
Then fetch a mop
Noticing a mess by the side of life
Passers-by pick the roses
Growing from the source
In sagacious poses
Never knowing they’re truly coarse
Yet doing mankind a favor
Though, isn’t there always
A pensive sort
For if not the puddle would overflow
From too much hurt
At the sport
On the highway weighed with snow
Where we melt into the asphalt
For the puddle in which I dwell
Is but the world’s emotional waste
To feed those roses
We’re supposed to smell
So as not to move
Through life with haste
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 19 - This Day

This day I am thankful for
This day I treasure
Once this day hath disappeared
I will once again be truthful
To myself
And to the ones above
No fear
No doubt
No place in my head
For what is loud
No one is here
To give me clouds
What I wish for here
Is sound
Once I leave I’ll be
Nearer ground
Enjoying chocolate
The red moon glows
And inside my heart I know
It is Friday night
The moon is full
And everything I love
Is out the door
Things are on the
Other side of the door
Nearer, farther
What is closer
Is here now
And what is farther
Has gone now
It’s gone away into the sound
The gentle melody of my soul
Holding me down
What is gone?
Where is tomorrow?
What have I lost in all the sorrow?
Greasy fingertips
Are all that’s left behind
As I move on to the sea
Unaware of what’s
Happening to me
I once was
A little far from insanity
And now I’m
Too close to obscurity
Hours on end keep controlling
What I am in the end
Soon I will fold and bend
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg


No. 20 - Conviction

Conviction
Isolation of temptation
This controls your constitution
(Hallucinogen)
by @robyneggs
feather_small_robyneggs_100film.jpg



Previous Collections

Out of Sync, You Leave, Pink… Sick Vol 7
The Silence of the Yellow Bear - Sick Vol 6
Walking in Moonlight White - Sick Vol 5
Red and Gold Mind Rotter - Sick Vol 4
Love is Endless, Poor Soul - Sick Vol 3
I am Possessed, Blind, Trapped - Sick Vol 2
Possession of Your Darkness - Sick Vol 1



thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Sort:  

Nice poetry and good write 💙💙💙

Yet another fine collection of views to you. Great stuff.

Thank you. It has been a pleasure to participate in the poetry community. Hoping you have a wonderdul day @japhofin8or

Something to think about! You have my attention. Upvoted an followed! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74