@Girlbeforemirror: A Tribute to Astonishing Talent ... and a Heart that is GallantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

A Bit of Background

A while back, I posted an article, "Smile" (poem/article) >>> Almost-Announcing "Marg's Homework Poetry Contest."

In it, I recounted meeting, and mentoring, an aspiring poet, @girlbeforemirror. Marg is undoubtedly the most gifted student of a teacher since Plato taught Aristotle. Her progress, though, gets frequently interrupted by her illness, a bloody nasty genetic disorder called Ehlers Danlos Syndrome. Here's one of her posts describing some of the daily delights of the disease and below are a few extracts:

If you google Ehlers danlos syndrome you will see pictures of stretchy skinned or double jointed people. This is because people with EDS have a genetic fault that effects their connective tissue. Connective tissue makes up a large proportion of our bodies. There are several types of EDS and people are effected in many different ways, involving any number of systems in the body.   
At best someone can hope to find an EDS aware clinician in the speciality they require treatment, which is potentially every system. Autonomic nervous system dysfunction presents with symptoms across all systems and can involve cardiopulmonary, renal, neuro, gastrointestinal or arterial function. 
Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS) is a big problem for me and very common in EDS and dysautonomia. Simply standing up can cause my pulse to hit 160 beats per minute. Often people with EDS have POTS in conjunction with low blood pressure. Strangely I have raised blood pressure, that goes up dangerously high when I lie down to rest. Something I need to do a lot. I become fatigued, pained, tachycardic and sweat like crazy, just doing basic things at home. This results in the need to rest (sometimes for days) to recover. A cycle of pain, fatigue and a growing sense of hopelessness. When I lie down, as I said my bp goes up. Sleeping more than a few hours means I wake in pain, as I frequently dislocates my joints (usually shoulders, ribs, neck and pelvis). Something very concerning to me however is a loss of sensation in my hands and feet when I lie down.  
But I have to try. I must keep trying. I am scared. I'm not scared of diagnosis or treatment interventions or even pain. I'm scared of investing hope and not finding any help for my condition. We have spent money that we don't have on treatment, surgeries, consultations, hospital admissions and now interstate travel, flights and accommodation. We lost the income I used to bring in as a registered nurse. We are now also looking to move our family away from everything they know to be close to my mother who is my support. 
I manufacture hope from nothing everyday in order to keep trying.


I have yet to launch the aforementioned Contest but we'll get around to it when everyone is feeling well.  

Marg continues to post when she can, and when she does, she continues to astound. In very short order, Marg has, to quote my earlier article:

... gone from being a damsel of doggerel to the belle of the ballad. Her progress has been as fast as I've ever seen.  

Rensoul's Poetry Contest

Recently, Marg wrote a poem for a Poetry Contest sponsored by @rensoul17. The objective was to compose a poem off a writing prompt about "Dark Marauders, Pirates, Zombies, Aliens and Wizards Outside of Time" [Rensoul ... how are you coming up with these writing prompts? :-) ]. 

Here it is (Marg, I put in a few commas ... we'll talk about that later, Miss lazy punctuator):

Marauders

You sit in your zone of green like sheep,
Surrounded by fallen, the towers you keep. 
You live by your timeline, imagined in books,
Omitting all mention of bygone crooks. 
The Earth, they plundered, to build them empires,
Those who opposed them, they silenced with fires. 
Your history books, depicting us with reproach,
But it's you who now cower, in green houses like roach. 
You called us marauders and pirates and worse,
Then cursed us and banished us to depth of your verse. 
Yes we were scribed, in the text of your scrolls,
Then cast out to space, disregarded as trolls. 
Call yourselves songsters, whining unison prayers,
Diadem worshiped in imagined gold lairs. 
We in exile evolved, we grew strong and we learned,
Our lights they burned brighter ... and yes we've returned. 
Melancholic your faces, stare space-ward wide-eyed,
As the scales they tip, leaving nowhere to hide. 
We'll rain down upon you, resplendent as gold,
Recounting your words, hearts still beating, we'll hold. 
As the last lights they flick, from your smug earthly face,
See the lines on mine strong, from the scars that you placed. 
There is nothing on Earth, that we'd wish to take,
Just your joy, then your life, for vengeance its sake. 

Pretty good for someone who, a couple of months ago, didn't know the meaning of alliteration.

We started a comment/reply thread and eventually this emerged: 

girlbeforemirror  

I've heard it said the quill, indeed, is mightier than sword,
To which I too can testify it's worth,
It is however sword which oscillates perpetual,
Etching internally eternal dearth, 
And etched indeed, words ever scribed upon the mind, they cry,
Particularly nocte, it's script cry's mirth,
Illuminated by mind's eye, chanting mantra is born,
Ingrained the verse now, cast a textual birth, 
Pen in hand, void hibition, bard but transcribes thy log,
No thought of pride or wit, estranged from worth,
Essential task not will driven, unburdening cargo,
Obligation to avoid, rupture of girth, 
So it seems, dear quill, it is equilibration of the fire,
A careful tendering of private hearth,
Succeed in symmetry, balancing sword and pen through life,
One achieves that which we all desire on Earth. 

I thought, "Geese ... good poem-quote." A poem with quills (quillfire) and swords (I'm ex-military) but ... it also seemed to be describing her situation. Well, that's bloody convenient, isn't it? 

So I copy-pasted a few lines into Google expecting Shakespeare, Woodsworth ... Tennyson, perhaps. Nothing. Strange. 

Then it occurred to me ... maybe it's not a poem-quote.

quillfire 

Marg ... did you write this? 

girlbeforemirror

I freewrite sleepless from my bed,
Where words reverberate in my head,
It’s 2 am, I wake too soon,
The moon is high, it haunts my room,
I cannot sleep, yet can’t be woken,
It’s in this place where truths they're spoken.  

What followed were several more paragraphs of riffing and, quite frankly, her just showing off (her grandmother used to call it "hip-swaying").

quillfire 

I am thunderstruck! Marg ... your progression is astonishing. 
When I read that first poem, I immediately Googled several different lines thinking you were quoting Shakespeare or Tennyson. I didn't recognize the poem and I didn't want to look stupid. 
Marg ... stop fooling around with your knitting, painting, scrap-booking, doodling, free-writing and all the other artsy-fartsy stuff ... and start writing poetic verse. 
Not only do you have an incredible facility with words ... you're VERY GOOD at "finding poetic ideas, ideals and insights" about which to write. 
Quill  

Read On (poets are verbose)

A couple more paragraphs of comments/replies (word to the wise ... "knitting" is NOT the same thing as "crocheting" and, apparently, it makes all the difference). 

And then, more poetry: About her struggles with doctors who, alas, know almost nothing about the cause or cure of her rare and debilitating illness. By this point in the back-and-forth, Marg was getting pretty drained, from which it can take her days to recover. And so, as her mentor, I've taken the liberty to lightly edit her lines, complete a couple she left unfinished and organize them into stanza form. Make no mistake though, 95% of it is hers: 

But for all my trying, the inference grows,
Each time I seek help, it's their fables that know,
Of me they know nothing; nay nothing, know naught,
All I've invested, all my efforts and thought.
But know they my wishes, and those do they thwart,
All that I've mustered, they try to distort.
Of medicine, each chapter, they read it aloud,
Like gospel interpreted by frock-wearing crowd,
Elite like messiahs, white coat adorned,
The cretin before them, stripped naked and shorn. 
Towering above me, they grimace and frown,
Disapproval garbed finery, they offer a gown,
It isn't sufficient, it covers but half,
Leaving exposed, like a joke at to laugh. 
A strategy used, as reminder of place,
It's hard to stay proud when you're in such a space,
They travel in groups, reinforcing conviction,
Adding to tale, writing more fiction. 
Withheld medication, I lose it cognition,
Desperation is growing, displacing conviction.
The circus and riddles and mirror-mazed hex,
Baffling and tiring, it leaves me perplexed,
There in a puddle, meat-puppet prostrate,
Little my power over it my own fate.
I promise I'll try, I'll continue to wait,
With sincerest of hope that it isn't too late,
So show me, Sir Savage; I'll follow, obey,
Do all in my power, be strong ... and hence stay.

Fellow Poets

I don't know how that strikes you, but I was struck. 

This is what Marg pulls off with no sleep, wracked with endless bouts of pain and with practically no instruction or practice.

This is a woman with an extraordinary talent for poetry, to an extent that I find astonishing. I would ask you to Follow, Upvote hard (you can imagine the expenses) and, to encourage her. To help her perfect her skills. Great poets require great audiences. Although her body fails, clearly, her mind does not. This woman is worthy of a High Place Amongst Her Peers.

In closing, I leave you with a poem-in-response ... for does not one poem deserve it, another?

Girlbeforemirror

Of Quills and Swords and Just Rewards,
Defined are Men by War,
Must find your might whence time to fight,
‘Gainst that which you abhor.   

Stand, don’t kneel … go find your steel,
Steel, though tempered by tears,
Draw it your blade, though be you afraid,
There's strength, in fighting your fears.   

Blade, if it broke; find words to invoke,
For words, to poets, are power,
Curse them the gods, defy them the odds,
Let not, it Fate, you devour.   

Girlbeforemirror, wish we were nearer,
New friends, as if we were old,
Stand not you alone, would not I condone,
My sword, unsheathes it, behold.

I’ll have it your back, ‘gainst rearward attack,
Like soldiers, we’ll stand or we’ll fall,
Two poets as one, of doubt there is none,
With words, we’ll millions enthrall.  

Quill


@d-pend @rensoul17 @trumanity @angelveselinov @madevi @lymepoet @blockurator @nationall @enginewitty @udezee @papacrusher @hash-tag @hartfloe @jaynie @steemitbloggers @guiltyparties @sunravelme

 

Sort:  

Some of the greatest poets in history fought themselves, diseases, ailments, critics, and many more demons, as well. There truly is some talent here. Whenever you find someone whose lyrics just fall out with no training, it is a difficult thing to give them the training and expect the same level of quality. Usually, there is a decline. It may bounce back later to a higher degree of competence, but learning has a way of taking one back a step. I don't see that here.

Another thing many great poets have had to endure--a good editor. Ezra Pound filled that role for some of the best poets of the 20th century. It takes a keen eye and ear to be a good editor, and she is lucky to have you, Quill.

@blockurator,

Thanks mate. And, of course, you're right. I've always wondered if pain, of some sort, wasn't a requirement of great poets. Tortured souls make more sounds.

@girlbeforemirror ... you poor girl, Block was a soldier too. You'll going to end up doing pushups just for getting your meter wrong.

Quill

Ha ha

Write free verse and you won't have to worry about meter. Of course, there are times when meter is what the doctor ordered. I wish more free verse poets studied it.

@blockurator,

Free Verse!!! Marg ... some soldiers are a bad bloody influence! Remember what your mother and grandmother warned you about ... men like him! :-)

Block, I hate to admit it, but I have warmed, slightly, to Free Verse during my time on Steemit. I had a bit of a revelation about the neurological underpinnings of what might be going on. If only I had a fMRA so that I could test my hypothesis.

Quill

Oh, well, that's interesting. I'd love to read about the neurological underpinnings of free verse. It might be an interesting exercise in mental self-flagellation.

But, for the record, much of what I do isn't necessarily free verse. I'd prefer to call it blended verse, which is simply the openness to all styles and poetic patterns for any poem. I love to incorporate traditional rhyme and meter with surrealist techniques, so I'd say study every possible writing form you can and see what you can glean from it. Take what you like, ditch the rest.

Or, to put it more succinctly, just be yourself. :-)

Loading...

This post of yours hits home, and I mean really at home, with me since my wife and three of our own children suffer with Ehlers-Danlose. It is a disease that not a whole bunch of people know anything about but is very debilitating and the only thing that can be done is to try and treat the pain to make it somewhat bearable.
Suicide is not an uncommon thing with kids who suffer from Ehlers Danlose because many end up bed ridden and on feeding tubes. My wife created a series of stories she called The Cat in the Mirror that she would tell because the black cat named Ace would sit on her dresser staring in the mirror when she couldn't get out of bed and didn't have the strength to even pet the cat. He would sit there for hours just looking at himself in the mirror and she would talk with the cat.

@sultnpapper,

Wow.

Thank you for sharing your experience, mate. Before meeting Marg, I'd never even heard of Ehlers-Danlose. Four people, in one home, dealing with this condition ... honestly, when I read that, it stopped me from breathing for a moment. Your wife and your children ... that's a heavy load.

Your voice is always welcome on my blog and, I'm sure, on Marg's as well. It's nice to have made your acquaintance, sir. I've Followed.

Quill

My wife had all the symptoms her whole life and her doctors knew she had a problem but could never put a finger on it, luckily the kids pediatrician knew of it and as the kids starting developing the symptoms he was spot on , it is relatively unknown to most of the public. That doesn't make it any less severe though to people who have it.
The Baylor College of Medicine in Houston is currently doing genetic studies on the disease and our entire family is a part of that study group so maybe they will be able to shed some light on the causes and possibly that might lead to cure someday.
Thanks for the invite and the follow. I am not really a poetry guy or a writer so don't look for much from me in any poetic form but I will be sure to visit from time too time.

@sultnpapper,

Baylor, huh? The world of genetics is exploding with research, of one kind or another, so let's hope someone generates a bit of insight. My daughter will be studying biomedical research when she enters university next year. She's spent the last seven years researching Alzheimer's Disease (when my Mom was diagnosed, we converted our dining room into a laboratory). The only thing either of us receives for birthday and Christmas presents is lab equipment. You know you've become a nerd when you cry tears of joy over receiving a new centrifuge. All it takes is one smart cookie. It's hard, but have hope.

I always attach an article to my poems which cover a wide variety of subjects. And, I also create a fair number of articles with no poetry at all, like my ongoing series about How To Fix Steemit. In any event, I'd be happy to hear your thoughts about whatever, whenever.

Quill

Yes, Baylor College of Medicine in Houston is doing a study, not sure who many families are involved but we all had blood drawn so they could study the DNA and try to find something that stands out that might point research to explore. It has been about four years now and when they took the blood samples they said it could be as long as seven years before we would hear anything about the study results.
That is quite a story of your own and Alzheimer research you and your daughter have going on, I wish her and you well in that.

@sultnpapper,

I love the fact that you and Marg are riffing. There's nothing like the experience itself. The rest of us, unwittingly, are simply too ignorant to contribute much beyond moral support. How could we not be? EDS is rare. But you guys know all the nuances and I'm glad you've found each other. This alone was worth the post.

Respecting Alzheimer's, my daughter plans, someday, to start blogging on Steemit about our experiments and the compounds we've formulated. It's a Herculean task though. To reduce it all to everyday language ... not easy. Her teachers have no idea what she's talking about.

And, she's really busy. There are several universities in a bidding war to get her to attend. One has offered her a Free Ride (tuition, books, room & board) and a very substantial research budget (to use as she likes) ... even as a freshman! To keep the bidders bidding, though, she's got to keep her grades up ... and, at her level, that means 95%+ in nothing but Advanced (by several years) Classes.

As you can tell, I am a ferociously proud father. My daughter says it's not classy for me to brag about her. She's right, but I can't help myself. And, since she's not here to stop me ...

Quill

They are called "bragging rights" for a reason, so use them by all means. You should be very proud as I am sure you are.

@sultnpepper,
I want to find the right words and am struggling at the moment, so please forgive me if I ramble. I have not mentioned this too much as I speak very little on line about my kids specifically. But I feel I must respond to you sharing your story, and also encourage you to make contact with my partner @azurejasper, as I believe you find yourselves similarly placed, and he I think feels very alone and a huge burden of responsibility. Both of my children too have been assessed as having EDS. This makes my need to improve, in my health and as a role model so important to me. My own burden of guilt is immense. I hope that my experience and learning and their early diagnosis makes for improved outcomes for them.
I would like to read your wifes cat series, are they published?
By day my view is one from a balcony window, from it I see paperbark eucalypts (similar to your tree @quillfire but without the rainbow), and the resident Currawongs (native Australian bird). I am also visited by Ravens, the occasional kookaburra and a cranky brush tail possum.
We are trying to move to a place where we will have room for a dog, my children have named it already, and more specifically be closer to my mother who currently travels hours to help me.
Australian property is incredibly inflated. Living in Sydney has become impossible for us. We had intended to move quite some time ago, but I'm sure I don't need to explain to you @sultnpepper how even the simplest of tasks can feel monumental.
Thank you for sharing your personal experience, I am following you but too be honest I don't scroll around much as it flares up ... everything.
Don't be a stranger, and feel free to drop a link on a post, I miss a lot of good content on steemit.
gb4m
PS I love the way you format your posts, I might have to steel your style.

@girlbeforemirror,

Marg, I was wondering about your children. Genes go both directions.

My own burden of guilt is immense.

You know you can't do that. You're not a god. This was not your decision to make.

This makes my need to improve, in my health and as a role model so important to me.

You're as good a role model as anyone I ever met. Your husband must be quite the rock as well. If he ever wants to chat, tell him to look me up on DM.

Quill

@girlbeforemirror it is my pleasure to make your acquaintance. My wife never had her Cat in the Mirror stories published, she barely even wrote them down. We owned a day care center for 12 years and when her flair ups kept her at home the cat would keep her company sitting on the dresser and looking at the mirror so she started talking to the cat about what the cat saw in the mirror and when she would go back to work the kids would ask her why she wasn't there and so she would tell them that she had to stay home and visit with the cat in the mirror. That is how it started, naturally the kids wanted to know more about that cat so she would tell them making it up on the fly and then one story led to another and another and then they would want the first story told again and then the cycle repeated itself. So it got where she had about a dozen cat in the mirror stories she was telling the kids, all from memory. She finally did write some of them down but I am not sure she even knows where that note book is.
I know what your partner is going through and I feel for you, him and your children. Most people can't comprehend that EDS is as severe as it is because there aren't any obvious signs unless you are very familiar with it and most people aren't familiar, most have never heard of it. EDS folks look perfectly healthy for the most part but under the skin lays a bunch of problems with the connective tissues and that can't been seen by eyes so some people just never get that EDS is serious stuff.
Some day the kids can run and play outside like any other kids and other days they cant walk without holding on to something or without using a cane for stability. Ankles and knees pop out of joint all the time as I am sure you are aware from just normal walking so it boggles people's minds.
Now I am the one rambling, I never have had the opportunity to talk to someone other than family members who have it so I really feel awkward trying to explain what you know better than me because you live it. I am on discord as sultnpapper #8612 why don't you hit me up over there with a DM some time and we can carry a conversation there? Share that with @azurejasper as well, I am sure we have a lot in common we could visit about too.
There is no need to feel guilty EDS isn't something you fooled around and caught so you have nothing to feel guilty for.
It is "papper" with an "a" not an "e" by the way, and don't feel bad about that, people make that mistake all the time.
I look forward to hearing from both of you. Adios.

I will get back into discord next week some time and drop you a line. I'm having upright trouble at the moment. Shoulders, ribs, spine. Have had a couple of horrendous short hospital stays this month. Yes ignorance is rife not just among lay people, medical professionals can be disgraceful (spoken as an exnurse too btw).
I haven't responded succinctly to this post, but @quillfire knows, I think, how hope and validation can be a vital life raft.
It is denial of effective pain management and disrespect, in the face of no treatment options that wears you away. I don't wish to make assumptions or unknowingly upset you, as I sense you have but scratched the surface, and I do not wish to open up scars that I know serve a vital purpose.
Scar tissue physical or emotional is stronger than skin that has never been maimed. It is immovable like armour entwined through the soul, but it needs to be, the tissue underneath is forever tender.

I found a chat / support / information thread called inspire.com very helpful. They have an EDS group that is quite active. Unlike the facebook groups it is well moderated and not prone to attack. It has been of help to me at times. The information shared is less opinionated and more evidence based.

Talk soon. Thank you again for reaching out.

What a lovely talent you have discovered! Thank you for nurturing it and sharing it with us here. It's fun to read real life poem-conversations. It's like I'm in the middle of a rehearsal for a musical. Wait, does she write music too? That would be too much!! :-)

@mattifer,

Don't give her any more ideas! She's already engaged in every creative endeavor you could imagine. I need her focusing on poetry. Lyrics, while beautiful (I love music), tend to introduce some "nasty habits" into poets. Due to the additional patterns in music (which stimulate dopamine secretion), you can "get away with things" that you cannot in poetry. Rhymes become "half-rhymes" (which don't exist ... they're actually assonance) which becomes obviously "poor composition" without the music.

Yes, I know, poetry-mentoring sounds like tyranny.

It is.

Quill

Man oh man oh man oh man! There's so many rules to making amazing poetry. Who would have thought? Here's my best effort:

There once was a man named Quillfire
Who put all his pants on the pyre
He danced around town
And married a clown
And now he's walking on a wire!

How did I do? I know, I'm a natural. -blush-

@mattifer,

You ... did ... BEAUTIFULLY!!!

You know, that whole "pants on the pyre" thing ... that was rash of me. I wish I had thought that through a bit more. People often ask me, "Quill, why did you marry a clown?" To which I respond, "Because I had no bloody pants and she gave me a pair, that's why!"

You'd think that that might dawn on people.

So, now I walk a tightrope for a living ... which, admittedly, would not be my first choice of professions ...but at least I have pants. You don't really appreciate a thing until you've lost it, and let me tell you ... I now appreciate pants like no one you've ever met.

BTW, "pyre" ... is an excellent word. It rhymes with "fire," but has a special resonance because of its association with the cremation of people, and in literature, heroes: Hercules, Hector, etc.

@girlbeforemirror ... watch out, you've got competition.

Quill

Loading...

I intend to write a worthy response quill, you have overwhelmed me somewhat and I need to take it in. But I had to pop on this when I read the word pyre. I like it too.
I had intentions about entering a painting contest at a local gallery. The theme was Dogs, it is an annual exhibition, hosted in honour of the gallery's resident pooch.
I didn't finish my painting in time, I can't sit for long enough and I have an unsteady hand. It was my only task for the month, and I didn't complete it. So gracious as I am, I had a tantrum and packed up a great deal of my art / craft crap.
IMG20180921081720.jpg
I labelled it for storage -
Occupational delusions, don't bother opening just put it on my pyre.
PSX_20180918_201347.jpg
I still haven't finished my hound. It can go on the pyre too.

@girlbeforemirror,

...you have overwhelmed me

That was my intention.

So gracious as I am, I had a tantrum and packed up a great deal of my art / craft crap.

Lucky for you, that is EXACTLY the kind of behavior that makes great poets. Great painters ... cut off their ears.

I still haven't finished my hound. It can go on the pyre too.

Oh no it can't. That picture of a hound is a spitting image of my ex-wife. As I'm attempting to be more civil towards her, I'll send it to her for Christmas with a note: "You ... on your best day."

Quill

Once I gamed the haiku-bot to prove a point about the limits of technology. But this is truly some next-level commenting!

@girlbeforemirror, if you stop by and read this, I just wanted to say that I am impressed at your poetry skills and I salute you for persevering through your illness. I hope you can find the strength and time time to share more of your creativity with us!

@dollarsandsense,

Thanks for the support, mate.

Marg has steel in her spine. I think she would have made a good Navy SEAL ... if she were a foot and half taller and an extra 100 lbs. :-)

Marg ... another soldier and a brilliant writer.

Quill

Congratulations @quillfire! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

@steemitbloggers,

Thanks guys. For those not in the know, Steemitbloggers is the premier group of writers on Steemit. I was very fortunate to have been invited to join, and have since been frequently amazed by the wordcrafting abilities of my fellows. When this crew rolls into your comments section, you've just doubled the quality of your post.

@jaynie is our Commander-In-Chief. Despite the sweet demeanor, she's as tough as nails and has the instincts of Napoleon. Any Whale with an IQ over 2 would track her curation trail like a bloodhound.

Quill

She's actually pretty good. Hope she continues to write despite her ailment.

Posted using Partiko Android

@enginewitty,

The human brain focuses upon that for which it is rewarded.

The respect of one's peers ... in this case, other poets ... is no small thing. Marg is fighting the most difficult battle that there is to fight ... a battle against oneself. There is nowhere to hide and no rest when you're weary. That does, I would suspect, quite a number on your head.

A couple of years ago, she ran 7 back-to-back marathons around Australia. She was an epitome of health. And now, she can neither stand up nor lie down without her blood pressure going through the ceiling. And, irrespective of what she does, she is in constant danger of dislocating this joint, or that. She's gone from being a social butterfly to being a social recluse. You never know if friendships are real until they are tested ... and becoming a burden is a sure way to do just that.

But courage is not the absence of fear. It is your manner of comportment in spite of it. The amount of psychological stick-with-it-ness that this gal possesses leaves me speechless. Lucky for her, she has a wonderful and supportive husband, @azurejasper and a wonderful and supportive mother, @bluerinse. Marg and I communicate by DM and email. The odd time she unloads, but she always pulls herself together, refocuses and moves forward.

Iron gauntlet, velvet glove.

Enginewitty, I would appreciate anything you and your crew could do to throw a little light her way. You guys cast a long shadow. She is in the process of trying to recreate a life and her writing (she's also an excellent prose writer) will be at the center of that. As I said in the article, great poets require great audiences.

Quill

I will check her blog out. She has the burning furnace of a poet. Her work has great flows.
Too sad she's contained by that ailment.

@udezee,

She has the burning furnace of a poet.

You're right ... and that's an excellent way to articulate it. Although, since you're a poet too, who's surprised? :-) Respecting her ailments ... she'll fight through them. We'll help.

Quill

Some are great writers, and some write great, while others don't write at all

@wales,

It sounds like you're well on your way to becoming a poet yourself (or perhaps you already are one). As I've told Marg repeatedly, what makes poetry, "great poetry," is the "idea, ideal or insight" ... the most powerful of which is the latter.

Quill

I used to go to poetry evenings in the 4 bars pub in Cardiff about 30 years ago and met all the best poets in Wales including some famous names; it was a good learning experience and was where I learnt how to condense my poetry by stripping out all the stuff that wasn't needed

@wales,

Ah, so you are a poet! I've seen your handle on the SteemitBloggers Discord channel. Let's keep in touch.

... where I learnt how to condense my poetry by stripping out all the stuff that wasn't needed

Poetry is the ultimate exercise in editing, and editing is what makes you a great writer. Verse, especially, forces you to "distill to the essence of a thing" and organize your thoughts, and words, around it.

The first lawyers in Ancient Athens ... were poets.

Quill

Mr Savage, Mr Moriarty,
I'm glad you have met, I will respond to this post with the degree of thought it deserves.
I am a bit overwhelmed by it, I need to choose my words.
Quill,
@wales is indeed one of the most intriguing unusual tangential writers I have encountered on steemit. He delves into the unknown, it's very difficult to not dive in after him.
https://steemit.com/philosophy/@wales/soul-roots

@girlbeforemirror,

Choosing your words carefully is what poets are all about.

Marg ... this was quite an outpouring of support from a lot of people ... on the first day. There will undoubtedly be more in the days to come. You do not stand alone.

Quill

One of my favourite poets was a 13th century Persian poet called Rumi; another was Kabir and there's a woman mystic poet called Mirabai from the 15th century that did some good stuff too

@wales,

I'm familiar with Rumi and Kabir (if only by reputation). Mirabai ... I'll have to Google.

Quill

I can see why you would be captivated with her writing
It's really beautiful
And to know that she's in pain....
Sending @girlbeforemirror lots of love and light

@kaerpediem,

Thank you for your kind words and generous spirit. The power of words well-crafted has no equal in the Minds of Men. Marg will give back more than she receives.

Quill

The emotions make themselves known in her poetry, along with her doubts, her concerns - the rational and less-than rational elements which define her place along her journey. When I read poetry like hers, I can't help feeling envy. It is so crisp and naked, without being overly personal.. it remains abstract, even though it is also personal. A perfect balance.

@trumanity,

It is so crisp and naked, without being overly personal.. it remains abstract, even though it is also personal.

EXACTLY Tru ... that is an excellent insight and an excellent articulation of it! She does the same thing with humor ... it's there, and you notice it, but it's not making a spectacle of itself. Spiced to perfection.

Those balances create great poetry, and great literature in general, and are hard to achieve. They are also impossible to teach. You have the instinct ... or you don't. Marg does.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60