You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Girlbeforemirror: A Tribute to Astonishing Talent ... and a Heart that is Gallant

in #poetry6 years ago

Some of the greatest poets in history fought themselves, diseases, ailments, critics, and many more demons, as well. There truly is some talent here. Whenever you find someone whose lyrics just fall out with no training, it is a difficult thing to give them the training and expect the same level of quality. Usually, there is a decline. It may bounce back later to a higher degree of competence, but learning has a way of taking one back a step. I don't see that here.

Another thing many great poets have had to endure--a good editor. Ezra Pound filled that role for some of the best poets of the 20th century. It takes a keen eye and ear to be a good editor, and she is lucky to have you, Quill.

Sort:  

@blockurator,

Thanks mate. And, of course, you're right. I've always wondered if pain, of some sort, wasn't a requirement of great poets. Tortured souls make more sounds.

@girlbeforemirror ... you poor girl, Block was a soldier too. You'll going to end up doing pushups just for getting your meter wrong.

Quill

Ha ha

Write free verse and you won't have to worry about meter. Of course, there are times when meter is what the doctor ordered. I wish more free verse poets studied it.

@blockurator,

Free Verse!!! Marg ... some soldiers are a bad bloody influence! Remember what your mother and grandmother warned you about ... men like him! :-)

Block, I hate to admit it, but I have warmed, slightly, to Free Verse during my time on Steemit. I had a bit of a revelation about the neurological underpinnings of what might be going on. If only I had a fMRA so that I could test my hypothesis.

Quill

Oh, well, that's interesting. I'd love to read about the neurological underpinnings of free verse. It might be an interesting exercise in mental self-flagellation.

But, for the record, much of what I do isn't necessarily free verse. I'd prefer to call it blended verse, which is simply the openness to all styles and poetic patterns for any poem. I love to incorporate traditional rhyme and meter with surrealist techniques, so I'd say study every possible writing form you can and see what you can glean from it. Take what you like, ditch the rest.

Or, to put it more succinctly, just be yourself. :-)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65