You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Girlbeforemirror: A Tribute to Astonishing Talent ... and a Heart that is Gallant

in #poetry6 years ago

What a lovely talent you have discovered! Thank you for nurturing it and sharing it with us here. It's fun to read real life poem-conversations. It's like I'm in the middle of a rehearsal for a musical. Wait, does she write music too? That would be too much!! :-)

Sort:  

@mattifer,

Don't give her any more ideas! She's already engaged in every creative endeavor you could imagine. I need her focusing on poetry. Lyrics, while beautiful (I love music), tend to introduce some "nasty habits" into poets. Due to the additional patterns in music (which stimulate dopamine secretion), you can "get away with things" that you cannot in poetry. Rhymes become "half-rhymes" (which don't exist ... they're actually assonance) which becomes obviously "poor composition" without the music.

Yes, I know, poetry-mentoring sounds like tyranny.

It is.

Quill

Man oh man oh man oh man! There's so many rules to making amazing poetry. Who would have thought? Here's my best effort:

There once was a man named Quillfire
Who put all his pants on the pyre
He danced around town
And married a clown
And now he's walking on a wire!

How did I do? I know, I'm a natural. -blush-

@mattifer,

You ... did ... BEAUTIFULLY!!!

You know, that whole "pants on the pyre" thing ... that was rash of me. I wish I had thought that through a bit more. People often ask me, "Quill, why did you marry a clown?" To which I respond, "Because I had no bloody pants and she gave me a pair, that's why!"

You'd think that that might dawn on people.

So, now I walk a tightrope for a living ... which, admittedly, would not be my first choice of professions ...but at least I have pants. You don't really appreciate a thing until you've lost it, and let me tell you ... I now appreciate pants like no one you've ever met.

BTW, "pyre" ... is an excellent word. It rhymes with "fire," but has a special resonance because of its association with the cremation of people, and in literature, heroes: Hercules, Hector, etc.

@girlbeforemirror ... watch out, you've got competition.

Quill

Loading...

I intend to write a worthy response quill, you have overwhelmed me somewhat and I need to take it in. But I had to pop on this when I read the word pyre. I like it too.
I had intentions about entering a painting contest at a local gallery. The theme was Dogs, it is an annual exhibition, hosted in honour of the gallery's resident pooch.
I didn't finish my painting in time, I can't sit for long enough and I have an unsteady hand. It was my only task for the month, and I didn't complete it. So gracious as I am, I had a tantrum and packed up a great deal of my art / craft crap.
IMG20180921081720.jpg
I labelled it for storage -
Occupational delusions, don't bother opening just put it on my pyre.
PSX_20180918_201347.jpg
I still haven't finished my hound. It can go on the pyre too.

@girlbeforemirror,

...you have overwhelmed me

That was my intention.

So gracious as I am, I had a tantrum and packed up a great deal of my art / craft crap.

Lucky for you, that is EXACTLY the kind of behavior that makes great poets. Great painters ... cut off their ears.

I still haven't finished my hound. It can go on the pyre too.

Oh no it can't. That picture of a hound is a spitting image of my ex-wife. As I'm attempting to be more civil towards her, I'll send it to her for Christmas with a note: "You ... on your best day."

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77