The Prostitute: An Original PoemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

On the sidewalk
She plies her trade
At a young age
In the world’s oldest profession


Image Source

In her stilettos
She is dressed in
Revealing blouse and tight shorts
As she haggles with her customers

Her hair is long
Her face with too much makeup
But her eyes reveal
Tints of sorrow


Image Source

She pouts and she jiggles
Trying to seduce her customers
And sells her body
For mere pittance

She puts on a smile
And appears nonchalant
But who can see her
When she sheds silent tears

Check out my other posts

What A Woman Says And What She Actually Means And My Poem “The Conversation”
Steemit Success: Celebrating My 700 Followers Milestone
Moments Of Truth
Prisons Of Our Minds
Colorchallenge Sunday Purple: Stop To Smell The Flowers

Spreading positivity one post at a time
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and follow me.

Sort:  

this is a great poem with a strong message,, few go by choice and for few they have no choice ,,, its better to understand others situation rather than laughing on what they go through. i am happy that you chose this topic, few may comment and few may not,, but even a little contribution counts attimes... thanks for sharing.

The plight of these women needs to be noticed by society and society needs to take action to help them. They should be given alternatives in life and they need to be empowered.

spreading...positivity :-)

Thanks for contributing to the One Human Basket community! You have received 100% percent upvote and resteem! :-) Cheers!

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket

Thanks. Keep on your good work of promoting poetry and interaction amongst poets. I hope that as a result of your work, more exposure will be given to poems.

Nice heartbreaking piece man 👍

What a touching poem this is...
Very well done @positivesteem :)

Thank you so much my friend. Glad you like the poem.

I love it! Upvoted and followed - will look at your old posts and looking forward to more poems from you. You're very talented!

Thank you so much for your kind words and support. I am glad you enjoyed my poems. Your encouragement means a lot to me and will motivate me to put in more time and effort here.

Heart touching poem. Yes they are victimised with the society or situations, you smartly describe their condition. Thanks for sharing such a valuable message.

It's sad when women are forced to sell themselves. Society has a role to help them

very good!
I invite you to go through my blog, maybe it's to your liking!

Thank you for your kind words. I will check it out later when I have more time

@positivesteem very good poem and my well wishes to humanity especially to our exploited sisters...wish them well

Thank you for your kind words. Do follow me for more.As a society, more should be done to help these women. Nowadays they ply their trade on the internet as well.

absolutely, welcome

Yes, the truth as I see it

This post has received a 4.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @positivesteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30