On The Brink Of Death: A Wake Up Call To Remind Ourselves That We Are Spiritual Beings In Physical Bodies

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I do not normally write on morbid subjects such as death. After all my blog is supposed to be more about the positive aspects of life. However, we still deal to deal with the grim reality of life. This poem was triggered by admission of my 89 years old father-in law who was admitted to hospital yesterday night. He was brought to the emergency section of the hospital in an ambulance.

This incident caused me to reflect on my on life, the anxieties that we have in facing death face to face, and the eternal question of what happen next. The poem is written as a wake up call to me and my readers not to be too caught up with the busyness of our daily routine and to remind ourselves what we treasure most and how we set our priorities right. It's also a reminder to live our lives fully.

On The Brink Of Death

From dawn to dusk I have been busy
Engrossed with my daily chores and to do list
Not even time for me to compile my bucket list
But alas now I am on the brink of death


Image Source

My pulse is getting slower
I am growing weaker
I am attached to an oxygen tank
I am on the brink of death

Lying on my deathbed
My family members have gathered
To say their final goodbyes
I am on the brink of death

These questions haunt me
Have I done my best
Did I pass my test
I am on the brink of death


Image Source

Did I make the world a better place
Did I lend a helping hand
Did I fulfil my life purpose
I am on the brink of death

Now there is no time for regrets
No more tomorrows for the things I left undone
Leaving behind the broken promises
I am on the brink of death


Image Source

Why did I realized too late
That I am a spiritual being in a physical body
That life on earth is only temporary
And that death is not the end but a new beginning

Do check out my previous posts

Gods We Created
7 Steps To Success At Steemit
Communicating With My Autistic Son Through Artistic Collaboration

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, and follow me. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Heart touching poem, specially the line death is beginning so real. Thanks for sharing such a valuable lesson.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Do follow me for more.

really amazing post as always :) I love the thought of how temporal everything in life is, it's one of the biggest drives in my life ☺

A lot of us are going through the motions of life without realizing how temporary it is.

It's pretty scary when you think of it, as a young child I used to be so scared of dying, it would keep me from sleep but now that I'm slightly older I see that everyone experiences it and that I need to do the best I can while I'm still here to make that change and leave my legacy :)

Our lives are a gift from God, the legacy we left behind is our gifts back to God.

The way you've phrased this is amazing, a new quote I can write down and keep as a motivator

Its like that spiritual world is as real as ours but applys to different laws of nature

We have to remember we are spiritual beings.

Great post! Thanks for sharing

You are welcome, follow me for more

Beautiful poem

Thanks. Do follow me for more.

What legacy are we leaving? Such a powerful question. A catalyst when one truly thinks about it.

Yes, it's something that we should reflect about.

World always been a better place, just we didn't see it that way!!!

A lot depends on our perspective and what we want to see.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $37.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Sorry to hear about your father in law.

Writing is such a good way to work through the weight of life, don't you think? Thanks for sharing your work!

Writing is very therapeutic and it helps me to unwind. Do follow for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42