Steemit Poetry Contest #15-Nocturnal OverloadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The junkie shot up one night and ODed and died.
The Narcan used did not work for
it was not exactly from an opioid high.
Yes, he shot up that night and could not write.

Aloud he cried when the words came not
and clutched and banged and beat his heart.
But the bellows did not the rush obscure,
and reality hit when he hit the floor.

He knew not the I that was he, and forgot what he did want to be,
so he searched for comfort where eyes never could see,
to search behind the shadows great,
the elusive thing, nocturnal bliss.

Disclaimer: I do not claim ownership of the images in this piece.

Sort:  

Thank you nicholas83 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.18% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

great entry and a well deserved win I really enjoyed this poem and even had to reread it a few times to get all the feelings are deep. Great competition

Thanks man. Appreciate your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80