If words could kill and steel could speak (Original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

If words could kill and steel could speak
What kind of havoc would poets wreak
What kind of songs would swords sing
To soothe the hurt that words bring

What kind of prayers would bullets invoke
As they screamed at targets trailing smoke
What fears would sentences spear inside
While sentencing ears to genocide

But poets can't kill, and neither can words
And steel can't shield us from nouns and verbs
The only way to deal with the hate you've heard
Is to love in the deepest sense of the word

Love your enemy for your children's sake
Don't leave them a legacy full of hate
Put down the steel and pick up a poem
Teach them of happiness and love and home

But keep the steel close should violence invade
And you find yourself dealing with tyrants in trade
May your aim be true and too your blade
And may you live to love another day


If you like this, check out some of my other stuff.

Hate Your Enemy - a poem with a hidden message that may change your perspective of this poem.

Life While Standing in Line - sort of a still life poetry piece

Sort:  

I read this one and your other two. This one especially had some great ideas. Keep it up.

Thank you. I appreciate your readership. I'll keep on writing. Thanks again.

Also, if one of the other poems you checked out was Hate Your Enemy, were you able to see the message in the image? Just curious.

Yep I think I got it, though I'm not 100% sure. Hate is your enemy? I never want to assume I understand a thing completely.

By the way, I thought that you were brave to write that message. It reminded me of something similar of mine that I might share at some point....But, I think the message got in the way of your art just a bit, maybe? Just a little forced? Like maybe you tweaked your natural flow in order to not be misunderstood. It was still excellent regardless, but this one was phenomenal.

Yeah, that's true. I got a little spooked because I realized that I could be in danger of being misunderstood, which wouldn't be such a bad deal if it weren't for the risk of being downvoted. I'm not too concerned about being downvoted for stuff I actually say, but this was a situation where what I said was being misinterpreted to basically the opposite of what I meant. Which, in all fairness, was a little bit by design, but I saw no way to effectively shield myself from the consequences without being more explicit. Thanks for your honest input, I really appreciate it.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

I think this might be my new favorite of yours :) Excellence in my mind... love it!

Thanks. I've had the opening line in my head a long time, but I have never been able to get any traction writing about it until now. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for your comment.

Thank you for stopping by. I'm glad you liked it.

I love your rhymes. :)

Thank you! I appreciate your support. It means a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43