Life While Standing in Line (Original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

Standing in line at the WaWa
Young couple in front of me
Some white dude
With a dread beanie
Or whatever you call those things

His girl is kind of cute
But she has a flabby ass
She's gonna be sloppy fat
when she gets older
I can just tell

Dude catches me looking at his girlfriend's ass
He stakes his claim
By putting his arm around her shoulder

He's short
like me
But much more confident
Life will cure him of that

What the fuck is taking so long?

Shorty looks at me
Briefly
Then averts his eyes
Hmm
Maybe he's already cured

I change lines
As they wait for the clerk
To open a box of papers
I chuckle

Fucking potheads

I put a pint of Ben and Jerry's on the counter
6 fucking dollars!
SMH
The register spits out my change
But I don't see it
So the cashier has to tell me
where it is
Kind of defeats the purpose

I grab my pint
Shorty is stepping up
To check out, finally

I shoot him a "fuck you" look
And head out to my minivan
"Daddy's got ice cream!"
Wife and kids cheer
We're gonna party tonight

Sort:  

This was a hilarious excerpt from a simple slice of everyday experience! I enjoyed it! (upvoted)

Thank you. I really appreciate it.

Your very welcome!

This is remarkable work.

Thanks. What have y'all been up to?

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44