How I Proposed to My Wife (+original spoken word poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

How I Proposed to My Wife
(before she became my wife)

PaperArtist_2017-10-28_22-40-18.jpg

Love is a crazy thing. As a young man, the world kind of teaches you that the outward expression of certain emotions is not always in your best interest. For whatever reason, love in particular, is seen as a weakness. I guess it is somewhat appropriate. You can't really love anyone without exposing yourself to some level of vulnerability. Maybe that's the rationale. Whatever the case, that's the way it is, and that was fine with me. Well, at least it was until I fell in love.

For me, love was uneasy. It wasn't my first go around, and I had been hurt before. So I never really let my guard down. But something about this time was different. It felt almost too comfortable. I felt no vulnerability in shouting it out. So that's basically what I set out to do, in the form of a poem.

People here on Steemit know me as a poet, but it isn't something that people in my regular life really know about. I don't think a lot of people in my life would really understand it. I as such, I find it easier to keep my poetic side to myself, sharing it only with a select few. I've always been that way. In fact, though I only wrote spoken word at the time, I had never actually performed at an open Mic or anything like that. So when I envisioned my proposal, that was the setting I had in my mind.

I found a place that had a spoken word open Mic night and went there by myself to practice with a live crowd. I had already written my proposal poem, but I wanted to keep it pure for her. So I practiced with another poem I had written. It went well, so I was confident that I wouldn't mess it up during the real deal.

So I invited my girlfriend and a few others to the place under the guise that it was just a really cool bar. It ended up being really empty that night for whatever reason. I made sure we sat close to the front. My guests were kind of surpri6when they called my name as the first poet (I had signed up on the sly). I got up there and said spoke this poem:

https://soundcloud.com/user-186900529/how-i-proposed

Make Me

You make me do things I don’t want to do
Like shave
You make me crave
Ice cream because
Life seems so complete when it’s just you and me
And two scoops of rocky road on a waffle cone
You make me talk on the phone
Much longer than my ears can handle
But your angelic voice
Leaves me with no choice but to hold the line
You make me wanna climb
To the top of Mt. Fiji
And scribble in graffiti
“Moe Loves Ashley”
And you actually…
Make me sick
Because no matter how ill
You feel, I can’t bring myself to stop kissing you
I’m missing you before you hit the door.
I want to hit the floor on my knees
And beg you please “Just stay a little bit longer”
Cause you make me stronger
Even more than back in the day
When I could bench 315
Cause you make it seem
Like the sun is never gonna set
You make me forget
Everything that’s bad
You make me so mad
At myself when I make you sad that
I would kick my own ass if I could
I would walk barefoot on hot coals
Till the soles on my feet no longer existed
You make me so twisted in love
That I can’t rise above
These knots in my chest
You make me wanna just
Stay home and write poems
About you
And how sad I’d be without you
So I’m not about to let that happen

Baby, you make me breathe
Air so sweet that I feel as if
I’ve held my breath for 28 years
You make me kill my fears
And spill my tears
So make me happy and
And fill my years
With you
Right here
Beside me.

Ashley, will you Marry me?

===============================================

The rest as they say, is history.

Do you have a proposal story you'd like to relate? If so, tell us about it in the comments.

Also, don't forget to enter my broke Haiku contest.

Sort:  

Who cares about vulnerability if you are acutely sure of who you are with?
Love is awesome when you are with the best lady and vice versa. How would they see?

They wouldn't know unless I told them. In any case, we are not always thinking clearly.

That was sweet! I hope you still read her poems in bed at night, when the moment is right, lit only by candlelight.

Love is awesome.

Yes. When the moment is right. Thank you for your comment. Love is indeed awesome.


sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 9.87 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @moeknows.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Glad to see another good post.

Thank you. I've been away for a little bit.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @moeknows to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 20.00 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @moeknows.

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

You big sweetheart you!

Shh. Don't tell anyone.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73