@moeknows Broke Haiku Contest Week 2 + Week 1 Winner

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

What's up, Steemians?

Sorry for posting this late. The past few days have been crazy as I have been moving and starting a new job and trying to get in a schedule, so I haven't had much time to be on Steemit. That being said, I swear I posted this yesterday, and it seemed to go through, but when I checked my blog it wasn't there (in fact, the same thing just happened again). I had to rewrite everything as I didn't save it offline. I apologize.

We had a lot of great entries. I will be making my way around to all entries sometime today to leave a comment. I appreciated every entry and honestly didn't expect to receive so many great entries. You all should feel proud of your work.

The winner of week one is @iwrite with his awesome entry. Your haiku, which is untitled, was chosen because of the way you were able to paint an entire scene with only 17 syllables. Your exceptional use of imagery appealed to several senses, and the mentioning of the "old house" allowed the readers to reflect on the unspoken part of the story. Good work. Congratualtions.

I do have one change for the contest going forward. It's more of a clarification, really, but I wanted to make it clear.

The contest prize is for the the author portion of the SBD payout. I realized that the language previously stated all SBD generated. I had no problem paying that this time, but I can't always guarantee that I will be able to do so. As I state in the post, I may give a little extra at anytime, but that is also not guaranteed. Thanks for understanding.

Well, Let's get on with it, shall we?

===========================================
WEEK 2

All SBD paid to me goes to the winner.

Hello. I've never done a contest/challenge here on Steemit before, so I figured now is as good a time as any to start.

I have always loved haiku/senryu. If you are not familiar with the form, here is a formal definition for the purists, but...I am not a purist. So, for this contest, we will go with a much more liberal definition....my own. The rules are as follows:

  1. The haiku must contain 3 lines
  2. The first line must be 5 syllables
  3. The second line must be 7 syllables
  4. The third line must be 5 syllables
  5. The haiku may be titled, but it is not required
  6. The haiku may have 1 image, but it is not required
  7. The haiku may not have more than 1 image
  8. Images may not contain written words (copywrite credits fine)
  9. You must upvote AND resteem this post in order to be eligible.
  10. Post your actual haiku and any related images in the comments below. You can make another post if you like, but I'm not going to be chasing down links.

Grading criteria:

-I alone will choose the winner.
-I favor poems that achieve depth within the confines of the form.
-I like clever poems
-I like poems with a twist
-I prefer that each line is a a complete statement or idea. Meaning there is a clear pause between lines (just a preference)

Prize:

All SBD paid to the author on this post. I may throw in some more if I can, but I'm broke (hence the name of the contest). Hopefully, it will get popular and the prize will be increased in subsequent contests. I will also upvote using @randowhale if I can (whenever he wakes up).

Sort:  

My entry: Psychosomatically Impair

Coercion enraged,
stale the beauty of complex,
lifeless, I smirk!

This is great. You can make a poem in a limited syllables!

Haiku poem is much harder than free verse! Thanks iyanpol12!

Sir sanamanalo ka god is with us.

Thanks sir neilanthony!

wow sir ha stale beauty, at least still beauty.

Lol! Beauty! Thanks purpledaisy57!

Best one. Good luck sir @iwrite.

Thank jovema!

Ngayon ko lang narinig yung Haiku poems na yan sir hehe. Goodluck sir!

Many thanks rakitera!

lifeless! indeed as do I when I read this sir. I'm bleeding my mind out lol. Goodluck!

No! Don't be! I know you can write this kind of poem.... In the future...Thanks jhiecortez!

Goodluck sir sana manalo kayo

Thanks julstamban. Sana nga sir!

My Entry

"Lacking Love"

Only taught violence
She viewed the world as hostile
Ready to kill young

My entry:

Grasshopper freezes.
Moon ray blesses forest trail.
Hmm...no rat, no snake.


Great to meet another haiku enthusiast! I'm presently writing a haiku and tanka collection if you'd like to read.

In terror I trust

Make me scared, make me scared please

Till I become fear!

Great job well done.

sir sana manalo ka dito proud kami sayo go sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72