Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls – original art and poetry

in #poetry8 years ago

Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls


Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls original art and poetry by Meredith LoughranOh haze of darkness,
Your embrace is as familiar
as a sweater --
and cold as a coffin bearing the
rotting flesh of the departed.

From above the muck and mire,
Warm light graces my fingertips.
Scraping at the bricks to no avail,
I reach for the sun's rays.

But these weeping walls are cold and slippery.
My efforts futile...
and I grow weaker by the moment.

For whilst my strength wanes,
the walls grow ever taller...
Squeezing closer...
Binding my body, yes,
But not yet my mind.

Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls original art and poetry by Meredith Loughran
Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls original art and poetry by Meredith LoughranWho shall ever throw me a life line?

I fear no one comes for me.
My calls for help unheard.

My flesh is torn from clawing my way up
brick by slippery brick.
And for every success,
the pit grows deeper;
the fall much harder,
And the pain...unbearable.
These weeping walls have stolen my tears
Leaving me a bag of bones,
Staring at an impossible dream,
As the cunning bitch of darkness
is but a blink away...
Her arms yawning in a full, familiar embrace.
Trapped Inside These Weeping Walls original art and poetry by Meredith Loughran

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

witchy merej99
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

Need something happy!

LOL - meow.
I'm just gearing up for Halloween. ;)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

upvoted! awesome. i really love poetry. you could check mine and give me a critic :-) https://steemit.com/poetry/@annesaya/youth-s-dim-light-a-poem-original

Drawing is really cool. I like how you used it with different perspectives as the poem went on. That was creative. Cheers.

Thanks @runrudy - it was fun...even as it was dark :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67