"Song of My Heart" | Poems, #015

in #poetry6 years ago

Song of My Heart

 
My heart sings of a place,
Of colour, warmth and soft edges,
Where one can get lost in love,
And beauty beyond imagining.
 
It also sings of a time,
Of virtue being coveted,
When dreams and ideals become real,
And we all live in harmony.
 
It sings whether anyone would listen or not,
Wishing only to fulfil itself,
But I have heard its melodies,
And been enchanted by their depths.
 
How hauntingly beautiful you are,
Oh, song of my heart...
 
But oh, how far away.

 
divider.jpg



After reading this again, I closed my eyes and shuddered a little.... lol. Besides being a bad poem in terms of poetry in general...:

When dreams and ideals become real,
And we all live in harmony.

... And then what?

Let it be known that I am no longer so sickeningly idealistic. I am generally an optimist, but now I realise that, in fact, a place/time as described above wouldn't even be a good thing. We humans need problems... Conflict is what drives us. Agent Smith was 100% correct.
 
This reminds me, too, of Christians and their heaven... They don't realise that such a place wouldn't be desirable. It would be a stagnant, boring place.



Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Biosynthetic Leaf: A Study" - dIFS Pong #015 | "Infection Detected" - Art Explosion Contest, Theme "Sci-fi" | "Desert Shrine" - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images sourced from pixabay.com

Proud member of:


Sort:  

I understand what you're saying - and idealism without recognition of reality often seems futile ... but I disagree that problems and conflict are a necessity in order to live. They seem to be the norm these days and yes, many people seem to thrive on them - but conflict, especially, is completely undesirable to me, and I'm sure, to many others. There are so many productive ways to spend our time that don't include conflict. I'm reminded of the song, "Imagine" by John Lennon. I'm a blend of both optimism and realism - but I'm with him on this one.

I'm sure we could live without problems and conflict, but they are definitely necessary for healthy growth and technological progress. Some of the best tech in all areas from medicine to the microwave came out of the "breeding house" of war. Necessity is the mother of all invention and all that. And many great works of art were/are done by "tortured artists" who had major problems in their lives. Basically everything by Van Gogh, for example.

Of course its all undesirable to us - by definition - but truly... We are problem-solvers and without something to solve, we'd stagnate. Without conflict, we wouldn't learn and develop and mature our characters (like children over-protected by their parents until they hit adulthood and then can't cope with even the simplest problems that arise).

They seem to be the norm these days and yes, many people seem to thrive on them

It's interesting that actually, we are now living in a kind of golden age in terms of the world's biggest problems (violence, poverty, inequality, etc). I highly recommend "The Better Angels of Our Nature" by Steven Pinker (genius of a man!).

I think it's the "conflict" part that I disagree with; as I view it in terms of war, fighting and violence - that I will never agree is a necessity of life and living.

Perhaps using the word "challenges" might change the perception somewhat? I do agree that everyone needs challenges to grow and learn to cope with daily life - but challenges seems (to me) to put a more positive spin on situations that give us the opportunities to learn and grow that we require.

Again, I don't think they're necessary for living - but for progress. I think of things like a puzzle ... It's a jumbled mess in the beginning but that's fun of it - we like to solve problems and build the picture up slowly, perfecting our crafts, getting better until it is perfect. Then once the puzzle is built... Well, it's awesome at first - such a great feeling of accomplishment - but then weeks go by and we become jaded to the picture... And, for me at least, it is such a lot of fun to break it up and restart it again at a later stage.

Not a perfect analogy, I know ;P

But at the same time, I don't like or desire war/violence. I just know, intellectually, that it is in times of war that, often, great things are accomplished.

And I do hope that we'll be able to come up with a different way of creating newness once we've overcome our violent, warring ways as a society. Actually, now that I think about it, I think we already have the answer... Competitiveness... Healthy competition in capitalism does seem to help with scientific progress, despite it's many negative consequences (plastic in the oceans, global warming, etc).

It sings whether anyone would listen or not,

Wishing only to fulfil itself,
But I have heard its melodies,
And been enchanted by their depths.

I'm so sure eternity with fellowship of souls from every part of life and every era together with spiritual beings could be considered boring. It would kind of be like commenting on your post without typing and hooking up to wifi.

Hi Christopher! ... I did notice all those bible quotes in your posts ;P Ignored them up until now, but it looks like we're finally going to have a discussion about this.

Putting aside the question of the existence of such a place, boring is definitely exactly how I would consider it... I mean, maybe for the first 50 or 100 years, it would be interesting... But eternity ? Gosh... I mean, I have a desire to live for a long time, here on Earth, but only because it would come with a huge set of challenges to overcome, goals to achieve, books to read, skills to learn, etc ... But not even here would I want to live forever ...

But without those challenges, without goals to set, I doubt I'd want to exist beyond a few decades. I often ask my Christian friends "So what do you do in heaven?" ... Sing, dance, or if you don't have a body, float around, simply exist to glorify a god? Seems very boring to me. Unless the god "programs" us in a way that we just don't feel the boredom? But that would be pretty much being turned into a love-zombie, which I definitely wouldn't want.

I put the verses up because I like them. You can skip them. No problem.

I agree with part one of your comment completely. I don't want to live in this world forever in this body.

I agree with part two in that love-zombies are not the ultimate purpose of eternal life. I see heaven more of Interstellar right now than anything else... I don't know how a "new heaven and a new earth will be made." It definitely would come in handy. Thousands of years ago there was a group called the Sadducee they pretty much followed your line of thought. They couldn't see any value of an after life. Jesus said they were badly mistaken.

I really don't want to start an argument or a thesis when so much has been written about what we cannot see or know. I don't know if Jimmy Hendricks will be in heaven, but I think Keith Green will be there and to jam with him would be enough reason to hang out. But I think there is another level that we just can't picture now like when you level up in a video game, you just couldn't get it and now you do. You may laugh at my comment and that's ok... maybe good. Because I accept that if there is a God it is God's business to convince you not mine.

Why do you refer to God as a man?

I see both female and male aspects and I don't see God to be a man or a woman but God is God. Jam with "him" refers to "Jimmy" and the other possessive pronoun was edited.

The only reason I ignored the bible verses is because I usually respond to them with bible verses of my own... Not the one's people like to put on their fridge, if you know what I mean ;P ... And I just didn't want to start that particular discussion with you because they weren't the focus of your posts.

I agree with part one of your comment completely. I don't want to live in this world forever in this body.

Forever, certainly not - But as long as possible... 10000 years... or even a million years - point is, I would want to be able to choose when to stop existing, instead of having death thrust upon me.

I see heaven more of Interstellar right now than anything else...

Could you explain more? You mean, like a different dimension? But my point still stands... It doesn't matter how weirdly different existence in this place would be from our earthly existence, it would still be forever ... So unless our very perception of time is altered (which I guess is entirely possible, if we're assuming a heaven is possible in the first place), it would get very boring, very quickly.

I just don't see a reason to think such a place exists. I look at things, considering our psychology, our history, our scientific discovery, and it what makes the most sense is that we (as a species) invented gods and religions because we needed them - and unfortunately, that need persists today.

I wouldn't laugh at anything you say, Chris - I respect you greatly as a teacher and fellow Steemit friend =) ... Respectful conversation is the name of my game.

(Although as to your last comment: According to the bible, it IS your job to convince me... ;P ... Salt of the earth and all that...)

Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99