You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Song of My Heart" | Poems, #015

in #poetry6 years ago

It sings whether anyone would listen or not,

Wishing only to fulfil itself,
But I have heard its melodies,
And been enchanted by their depths.

I'm so sure eternity with fellowship of souls from every part of life and every era together with spiritual beings could be considered boring. It would kind of be like commenting on your post without typing and hooking up to wifi.

Sort:  

Hi Christopher! ... I did notice all those bible quotes in your posts ;P Ignored them up until now, but it looks like we're finally going to have a discussion about this.

Putting aside the question of the existence of such a place, boring is definitely exactly how I would consider it... I mean, maybe for the first 50 or 100 years, it would be interesting... But eternity ? Gosh... I mean, I have a desire to live for a long time, here on Earth, but only because it would come with a huge set of challenges to overcome, goals to achieve, books to read, skills to learn, etc ... But not even here would I want to live forever ...

But without those challenges, without goals to set, I doubt I'd want to exist beyond a few decades. I often ask my Christian friends "So what do you do in heaven?" ... Sing, dance, or if you don't have a body, float around, simply exist to glorify a god? Seems very boring to me. Unless the god "programs" us in a way that we just don't feel the boredom? But that would be pretty much being turned into a love-zombie, which I definitely wouldn't want.

I put the verses up because I like them. You can skip them. No problem.

I agree with part one of your comment completely. I don't want to live in this world forever in this body.

I agree with part two in that love-zombies are not the ultimate purpose of eternal life. I see heaven more of Interstellar right now than anything else... I don't know how a "new heaven and a new earth will be made." It definitely would come in handy. Thousands of years ago there was a group called the Sadducee they pretty much followed your line of thought. They couldn't see any value of an after life. Jesus said they were badly mistaken.

I really don't want to start an argument or a thesis when so much has been written about what we cannot see or know. I don't know if Jimmy Hendricks will be in heaven, but I think Keith Green will be there and to jam with him would be enough reason to hang out. But I think there is another level that we just can't picture now like when you level up in a video game, you just couldn't get it and now you do. You may laugh at my comment and that's ok... maybe good. Because I accept that if there is a God it is God's business to convince you not mine.

Why do you refer to God as a man?

I see both female and male aspects and I don't see God to be a man or a woman but God is God. Jam with "him" refers to "Jimmy" and the other possessive pronoun was edited.

The only reason I ignored the bible verses is because I usually respond to them with bible verses of my own... Not the one's people like to put on their fridge, if you know what I mean ;P ... And I just didn't want to start that particular discussion with you because they weren't the focus of your posts.

I agree with part one of your comment completely. I don't want to live in this world forever in this body.

Forever, certainly not - But as long as possible... 10000 years... or even a million years - point is, I would want to be able to choose when to stop existing, instead of having death thrust upon me.

I see heaven more of Interstellar right now than anything else...

Could you explain more? You mean, like a different dimension? But my point still stands... It doesn't matter how weirdly different existence in this place would be from our earthly existence, it would still be forever ... So unless our very perception of time is altered (which I guess is entirely possible, if we're assuming a heaven is possible in the first place), it would get very boring, very quickly.

I just don't see a reason to think such a place exists. I look at things, considering our psychology, our history, our scientific discovery, and it what makes the most sense is that we (as a species) invented gods and religions because we needed them - and unfortunately, that need persists today.

I wouldn't laugh at anything you say, Chris - I respect you greatly as a teacher and fellow Steemit friend =) ... Respectful conversation is the name of my game.

(Although as to your last comment: According to the bible, it IS your job to convince me... ;P ... Salt of the earth and all that...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87