"Desert Shrine" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

Whenever books and Science Fiction comes up in conversation, I always end up recommending the "Dune" series as the best sci-fi I've ever read.
 
But I always feel like I never end up doing it justice when I try do describe why I feel that way, so I'm not going to try now. You'll just have to believe me. Pick up the first book and see for yourself. Or else, watch the mini-series with William Hurt as Leto Atreides. (One of the very few cases where I feel watching the film version of something first will not spoil the book for you - not at all. Don't watch the 80s Lynch movie though... It's terrible.)
 
Anyway, it is rare that I do something inspired by my favourite sci-fi series, so very happy with this! ^^



Desert Shrine

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“There is in all things a pattern that is part of our universe. It has symmetry, elegance, and grace - these qualities you find always in that the true artist captures. You can find it in the turning of the seasons, the way sand trails along a ridge, in the branch clusters of the creosote bush of the pattern of its leaves. We try to copy these patterns in our lives and in our society, seeking the rhythms, the dances, the forms that comfort. Yet, it is possible to see peril in the finding of ultimate perfection. It is clear that the ultimate pattern contains its own fixity. In such perfection, all things move towards death.”

-- Frank Herbert, Dune


The creation process:

 
I started by loading up some old parameters that I had saved for later:

Some tweaking of parameters brought these, two great potentials for a different style of mandala for a different time...:

I wanted more intricate details though, so I zoomed in and continued tweaking until I found this set:

Those gaping holes just wouldn't do, so some adjustments of the rotation parameters fixed that... Some final tweaking and voila:

The colours needed to be sandy but with enough dark in there for varying shades, so I used JWildFire to make this to use as a diffuse colour map:

And finally, here are two photos I took with my phone as I was rendering it (the program is called "Mandelbulb 3D").
 
The second one is showing the time it took to render... Almost 40 minutes... And that's actually quite short because the formulae I'm using are quite simple... Sometimes the same size render (7000x7000 pixels) can take 4, 5, even 8 hours. In these cases, I let it render through the night.

Another Monday, another mandala! =) I hope you like it. Remember, if you're interested in having a mandala printed on fine art paper, get in contact. I sell them either printed and shipped to you or I sell the original image file for you to print yourself. And I accept Steem as payment! ^^




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Luz Solun" | Gallery: Motifs | "Biosynthetic Leaf: A Study" - dIFS Pong #015 | "Infection Detected" - Art Explosion Contest, Theme "Sci-fi"
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images, copyright @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Proud member of:


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67