"Labyrinth" | Poems, 020

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Labyrinth

 
Does it ever end?
These up and down dreams are all there is?
No eventual plateau of awakening?
Where happiness is rooted in certainty,
And love is a dance, not a struggle?
 
They whisper, they smile,
They hide their wiles,
And I follow them,
My heart open wide...
All throughout time,
My mind wanders,
In dreams steeped,
In red roses and wine.
 
I'm slowly tiring of the pain of idealism,
But I'm not sure it's worth being anything else,
So if the climb proves too steep,
The plateau too high...
 
Well then, I won't mind dying,
From exhaustion.

divider.jpg



This was written just before my finding extra income in order to be able to save for my ticket to Brazil... Probably the last week of December, 2009.
 
I was getting desperate and feeling more and more helpless. And my life, up until then, really had been a series of hopeful dreams and bitter disappointments, sometimes my own doing, sometimes, just the way the dice fell. And it just felt like the thing I was feeling, the perfect love I had, the clear vision I could see before me for my future, yet again was not going to be realised...
 
So please excuse the slight bit of melodrama ;P
 
Song of the day...:
 
Sting - Fragile

 



Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Spice Furnace" - Zen Colouring Contest | "Entropic Flux" - Gallery: Fine Art | "Growthflake" - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

Image source: Pixabay

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Steemit witness Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Aaahhhhhh my first SNEKKED! ... =D

Thank you, oh great wise Snekky. I shall work hard to be furtherly worthy of your esteem! <3

Interesting thoughts in a concise note. Good luck with your ventures.

Thank you very much =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63