longiniquity

in #poetry6 years ago

I call to you
and the winds susurrus loud

I reach to you
and the fires burn luminous

I trill to you
and the waters course pellucid

My ears hear your locution
My eyes descry you before me
My heart dwells upon you

You can not glean
my timbrous vibration

You can not see
my glistening visage

You can not feel
my supple softness

Sort:  

You arouse me with your touch,
though I can't see your hands.
You have kissed me with tenderness,
although I haven't seen your lips.
You are hidden from me,
but it is you that keeps me alive.

-Rumi.

As a lover of words, this piece was a treat on that front alone. "Longinquity" is a great word, as it means "remoteness," yet conveys the image of longing, which is this piece's core.
"Pellucid" is a new word for me, rare as that is. Susurrus is a word I love (and which appeared in the original draft of "Poem of Protection"!), and "trill" is a criminally underused word.

The music used was very well chosen, the austere non-tonal string music. I've long been interested in that music, not something I listen to constantly, but something I put on now and then, when the mood is right. A combination of austerity and classicism, which fits with the bare structure of the poem. Simple lines, repeating structure. And also the outfit you wear and the black and white video.
And then came the oni mask. Must admit I did not see it coming. A mask, while speaking of being unseen. A sad demoness.

But I see you. Even when I can't look at you, lest it burns the sight from me, I see by your light. And yet, we spoke of this. There is a closeness, and there is a closeness. And yours are always the veils, to try and hide behind. Mystique comes naturally to a witch, does it not? The only thing scarier than not being understood, is being understood. To have others see us as we are.
Even, perhaps especially, if we shine as brightly as you do.

I also noticed the absence of Earth, in this piece. Earth is the space, keeping two apart.

That bit of Rumi is a lovely pairing with this piece. <3

I started with the music. I was just playing around and then found the magic chord and watched the rest form. From there the words started to surface and as you can see, the Muse came out to dance.

I enjoy these more austere landscapes, they really seem to pack a punch, especially after having done a bunch of garish pieces as I have of late.

As always, your perceptions are sharp -- Earth, though missing may have the most presence in this piece over the other elements. It's always in the unspoken one may find the heart of the ditty. ;)

Less really is more in poetry, quite often. I say, even as this piece is overflowing with those delicious words I like so much. But, while the words are rich, there is much space around them, letting them breathe. And yes, definitely in voice-art, the urge to overcome the viewer must be overcome at all angles.

And this muse, she's always dancing, oh yes.

These are heating up and I love it! Excited also to see the reply to this :)

It's always interesting to see what kind of atmosphere you'll be matching to the words in the video, what timber your voice will be, and the sounds that will play off of it.

::giggles::

Let the muse out and she'll dance (at least I've always found this to be true ) -- and she's dancing.

I'm always surprised when I've finished one of these, it's such a mysterious process, I have ideas and then all the magic is in the "mistakes" or unexpected things... A bit of fairy dust.

Thank you for your lovely words and stopping by. :)

wondrous & lovely. I love this.

Thank you, Love. I really love this one too.

I love your videos. They give a unique feel/perspective to your poems. The editing (especially of the voice) is something that I really enjoyed (both in this and in a previous video), so I will be looking forward to more of your poetry videos!

As for the poems itself, I love how it's structured equally. You start with your actions and the elements of nature. Then the other person is right there, but you are not in the same situation. It is quite interesting how the rest of the poem progresses. Through difficult words (I admit, I struggle), I do catch the vibe of the other person seeing right through you, as if you were ghost-like, or not present.

Thank you kindly. :)

There shall be more, I love doing these time-arts pieces and feel like I've got a momentum going (learning curve).

Your insight is astute -- I never share my intent as I feel that takes away from the experience for others. I approach all art this way, however, your observations are a pleasure to read. Again, thank you and glad to meet you.

Nice one.thanks for knowing us.it'a beautiful poem.hope all guys like it.keep it up.waiting for your next post

Thank you, that is very nice of you. :)

There's no more words, but be grateful with the beauty of your poem and voice!! Only the best vibes for you, @mamadini!!

@leveuf

Thank you, you are always so kind. <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Mirror, Mirror on the wall...The ceremonial simplicity is reinforced by the black and white video , creating dramatic value contrast. I love the Kabuki artistry of the elegant music and the transformative symbolism of the demon mask. Provocative and dynamic execution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87