High Air

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



John-Geddes-Quotes-Pain.jpg



I worked for a bank,
Later in construction,
When I was in my twenties;
Monitoring men
Deep beneath the streets
Working under high air.


I hated what I did—
Work was only what I’d do
And like the subterranean crew
Was desperate to breathe.

I recall reading Sainte Exupery
Who found adventure
Flying over deserts
Delivering the mail.

Once his plane went down
And he spent the night
Sleeping on the wing
Staring up at stars.

I wonder if he felt
The vertigo
Of falling into the cosmos
The same sensation
I felt nights
When I’d do the same—
Feel the frisson
Of staring up into stars.

But my adventures
Were all inside my head;
And no romance,
Only dead ends.

But I’d write
Late into the night,
Unpublished,
Writing for no one—
Amusing myself
Making unknowable art.

I wanted so much
For everything to mean
And was desperate to breathe.

After some time
Writing became my life
I found my voice;
Not in the desert,
But in the city noise.

I learned
When you're broken
Everything gets a little honester;
You make mistakes
But don't give a damn –
Give up on perfection,
But get real...

The secret to writing
Is get your own pain –
Shout it out till it hurts your throat –
Weep it into your pillow
Then write it down

Until you do,
You’ll labor under a curse
Unknown,
And buried
Beneath a weight of dreams…

Struggling to breathe
Under high air.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo art by @countrygirl



Sort:  

A veces cuando todo está roto, el roto eres tú, @johnjgeddes. Creo que al mundo lo vemos por una ventana que nos pertenece: los ojos. El poeta verá en la imagen gris su poema, el fotógrafo su foto, el hombre su vida. Las palabras están para expresarlo todo. Pero si nos fallan esa palabras?No es el final feliz, es la inquietud y la esperanza de que eso pueda suceder y así mil cosas. Hay que vivir, padecer. Escribir sobre la experiencia del otro no transmite el mismo aroma. Un brazo

Es cierto, Nancy, que buscamos una explicación para ser el arquitecto de nuestras propias desgracias, como dices, a veces cuando todo está roto, el roto eres tú ...

Fantastic work, John. Loved the stanza you chose to hi-light. Powerful. I also adored this stanza.

The vertigo
Of falling into the cosmos
The same sensation
I felt nights
When I’d do the same—
Feel the frisson
Of staring up into stars

Heads up though; I think there is a typo in the line before:)

thanks for the alert, Pryde - I hate typos :)

Chances are it was spellcheck ... it always changes my no to nots:)

You're so positive - it was my clumsy fingers - made for a hockey stick and smashing things - not so much for fine motor skills (when I type fast I get dyslexic)

The world is blessed to have writers gifted as you are!

Thank you, @birdsinparadise! I appreciate your encouragement.

Very beatiful and thorough, actually it narrates how writing evolves from pain. I belive great writing comes more from pain than pleasure.

an interesting thought - thank you!

Congratulations, your post received 7.53% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 2.06% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Love your works mr john,i wish to be like you.

After some time
Writing became my life
I found my voice.
Not in the desert,
But in the city noise…

This remind me of my childhood when my mum constantly reminds me that the pen is mightier sword.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78