Runaway Rhymes 6: First or Worst - Poetry Winners

in #poetry7 years ago

Wow, thank you all you wonderful poets. I never imagined that this little competition would have so many entries. I have been here for three hours going through them all and making a decision as to who the winners should be!

Here is my verdict

1st Place (25 SBD): @halo with Dear Husband
2nd Place (15 SBD): @elementm with First Scrabble Tournament
3rd Place (10 SBD) @inphiknit with Sloth and Idle Hands

Honorable Mentions (5 SBD)
@theweirview with I will not Forget Our Yesterday
@ethjunkie with My First Poem

Everyone's elses poems were amazing too, please keep on entering, next time it could be you :)

I'll be back on Saturday with a new Runaway Rhymes Content - not sure sure what the prize stakes will be yet though, but will try hard to make it worth it.

This time around I will come up with an interesting first line and you will have to complete the rhyming poem as the flow takes you.

So be on the look out, my poetic friends...

Sort:  

I just see I was the winner , Thank You So Much :) congrats to everyone that entered. Thank You to @hopehuggs and @papa-pepper for making this contest possible:)

Wow.... Competition is so so hectic..... Congratulations to the winners....

This round seemed to be a topic that inspired a lot of people.

Hey thanks so much @hopehuggs, I'm anticipating the next round! And way to go everyone!

A kindred spirit on how it feels to do the dishes - your poem just had to be one of the winners.

I got a new stack for ya if you want!

Thank you 😃(also for the #emojipoetry resteem)! And congrats to the other winners 👏

I really liked your poem, it is fresh and original.

Thanks, I appreciate that

U people do this with everyone ryt? ... Biased results

I'm sorry you feel that way. The winners and mentions are the poems that resonated with me most (not the people behind them), so yes maybe that is a bit biased. There were also a couple of entries that were very good, that were not linked to in comments that may have won had they'd been listed in comments. Perhaps next time, I'll have to ask someone or someone will offer to help judge with me.

Good luck for your upcoming contests mam.... I don't expect anything neither will I participate anymore in such biased contests... Thank you

Don't let people like this get to you and make you stop doing your contest. Some people just can't take losing.

I can assure that this was not biased, I have never even been to @hopehuggs blog and have never communicated with her in my life. I just happened to find the contest in the poetry section one day and entered. I enter a lot of contest here on steemit with my photography and don't win and I think mine is better then some of the winners.

Very proud of you for running this contest. I'll enter again.

Please do. Your poem was beautiful as well. I wish I could make everyone a winner and also that they are as understanding as you towards their partners.

I'm an old-fashioned poet. I write hard forms like sonnets and roundelays, and the language isn't for everyone (and not, even, really, for my wife, if I'm honest). I realize when I enter these things that my chances of winning are very small. Still, doing the work stretches me. I'll be back.

Congratulations to the winners :) Great poetry.

It was ALL great poetry.

If I'd Only known Sooner, I wrote a Poem Called The Strangled Scream the Day before this Contest. It took me many Hours to Fight through it's Complexity. Maybe Next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65