"A Sea of Currencies" - entry for Write Me a Sonnet contest

in #poetry7 years ago

In The Writers' Block poetry workshop, we've been excited about a poetry contest hosted this week by @chrisroberts. He's asking for original submissions of sonnets. The contest just happens to coincide with a few workshop conversations about iambic pentameter, so we were ready for this one!

And we hope Chris will come visit us in poetry workshop; he'd obviously fit right in! Below is my sonnet entry, and I'm excited to read the entries from other Writers' Block poets!

By the way, I've hidden a few easter eggs in this sonnet. Can you find three times the word "currencies" has been hidden in the first three stanzas?

A Sea of Currencies

A mermaid draws her money on account
from vaults her banker tucked beneath the quay.
The teller, told to charge a small amount:
“Incur and seize a fee as though a day.”

This fishy bank inflates the mollusk stores,
and troves of treasure chart a downward steep.
With current, seas seduce her from the shores
and move her clams from safety to the deep.

As currants ease her hunger, so a loan
assuages all expansionary urge.
The books reflect what auditors aren't shown
the clams, on ledger, suffer from a surge.

Once penalized for saving all her stash,
the mermaid swims away to spend her cash.

[ cover image courtesy of pixabay.com ]

Sort:  

This is fantastic! First of all, I'm not ashamed to say you taught me a new word, "quay."

I love the way you ordered the words of each line to get the most out of the verse.

I'm extremely impressed with the clever occurrences of currencies.

Thank you so much for participating, and thanks for sharing with #thewritersblock. I'd like to join the workshops, but I'm still gradually warming up to the idea of chat. I don't feel like I have enough time to work my Steemit page and be active in chat.

Also, I don't really thrive on criticism. How's the unconditional encouragement factor with The Writers Block? I really just want support from people who are willing to take the time to read my stuff.

Thanks again for a stellar entry! Excellent verse!

thanks @chrisroberts! it certainly can be a time suck, the Block chats, but only because they're such a good time. I hear you, though, and if you don't have the time, I wouldn't risk it. (wink)

I think I'm going to give chat a try. @carrieallen's trying to get me acquainted with discord. :) I was looking around in there a little this morning...

You won't be sorry... but time sink? True 'dat! ;)

My dear @geke,

Your clever verse has me smiling so very broadly... :D
Well hidden, I had to go back and squeeze my brain to find your easter eggs...

Thanks for the jolly fun! :D And for a good example. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

thanks - I think we're becoming sonnet buddies!

Your "extra mile" effort to include those homophones in your sonnet reminded me strongly of myself when I was addressing a limerick contest here, (unbelievably) eight months ago...

A key rule of the contest was that the first line of the limerick had to end in "NED."

I suspect I'm at least a little OCD... I ran with that rule, and went on beyond... far beyond... and entered the contest three times, each entry racking up ever more "ned"s... :D

This was the contest:

"NEW CONTEST: WRITE A LIMERICK. "

This is a really great poem @geke. Inventive, playful with language and set in the sea which is my favorite place to be 😉 The bar is set high in this competition!

thank you very good blog

food with very much nutrition. I like to eat it..

Sonnets are so tough, but you used the format beautifully!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44