Poetry Digest - Sixteenth Edition

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

poetry Digest.jpg

Poetry Digest - Sixteenth Edition

Welcome back to the freewrite Poetry Digest brought to you by @wandrnrose7. This week's poetry submissions are showcasing some amazingly talented English and Spanish writers. Each week @freewritehouse is sponsoring the Recommend Your Favorite Freewrite Poem contest for a chance to win a Steem Basic Income share and 100% upvote. Special thanks to @curie & @eaglespirit for the donations!

Prizes Were:

2x 1 SBI share sponsored by @curie
1 SBI share sponsored by @eaglespirit
2 x 100% upvote from the Freewrite House (at the time of posting ~ 0.14)

Don't forget to check back to share your poetry recommendations for a chance at winning next week!

Please continue to share your freewrite poetry with the #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry tag. Check in regularly for our next Freewrite Poetry Digest!

Poetry.png

Here are some of our favorite selections.

Click on the picture to read the full post.

@michellpiala

@wordymouth recommends a wonderful poem crafted from the prompt eagle scout:

I really enjoyed this poem and its message by @michellpiala. I'm an old man who frequently fails to understand my daughter's struggles as a woman. I just do things; she must conform to things. This was a nice reminder of how woman can break those chains and just be themselves.

[Untitled design (52).png](

https://steemit.com/freewritepoetrydigest/@michellpiala/defy-the-norms-or-freewrite)



Poetry.png

@cryptocopy

@iamjadeline recommends a poem crafted using the word *movement by @cryptocopy.

As I do my job as encourager, I am honored to stumble upon her poem. So beautifully written it talked about life as a movement. And show us different types of daily movement in there. The poem caught me by surprise when in the end it mentioned about life happens in moments. Check it out to know what I mean.

Untitled design (51).png

And @cryptocopy received another recommendation! from @anonymummy:

I would like to suggest @cryptocopy for their poem. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@cryptocopy/not-like-a-wildflower-or-freewrite.
It draws a parallel between a flower's blooming life cycle and true friends. Withering and becoming less cared for with age. It makes it hard to see who your true buds are amidst an ocean of weeds.
To appreciate what's left.
this poem is past payout, please upvote an active post/comment.



Poetry.png

@saulos

Untitled design (47).png

@wonderwop shares a lovely Spanish poem written by @saulos and provides the Google translation for us:

Under the newspapers that has led the wind
I find you covered my love,
today I want to tell you how much I feel
not have found warmth,
but if in the morning you find no consolation
more than a cruel look of bewilderment
do not doubt that there True, under the Amulet, Grudge,
but here on the ground, where there is no body
of you not forgotten the value...

Today I would like to recommend this Spanish poem by @saulos, I had it translated, so you won't have to. I have to admit, I read it slow in Spanish and it seemed to flow better than the translated version. I could be wrong, but I think that my Italian is close enough to Spanish, that when I read it slowly it sounded more romantic. @saulos if I am wrong please let me know. Loved it, either way.



Poetry.png

@stinawog

@improv brings his us his wife @stinawog using the prompt dog breath:

Untitled design (48).png

I recommend dog breath
Yes, she's my wife, but she also deserves notice for this one, especially! I feel like it evokes so many things we've talked about, like learning to love even gross things, and that that's important if you're going to go on a journey of forever with someone. Also, we have friends who open mouth kiss their dogs, and for a while we thought it was weird, but our boundaries have changed since then. Very sweet dog, lots of love. When you love someone, you want them to be happy, and if licking the inside of my mouth makes my dog happy, so be it.



Poetry.png

@anonymummy

Recommended by @wandrnrose7:
I read a sweet poem by @anonymummy using the prompt breeder sharing her thoughts on the tender feelings of motherhood.

I love children especially mine.
Were it not so hard or painful,
I'd be a baby's mum until I died.

Read her poem here:

Untitled design (49).png



Poetry.png

@darruiz

@darruiz shared a touching poem using the prompts cancer and movement

Untitled design (50).png

Google Translation:

As a Cancer
that consumes
is the depression
that you left me.
Cold, withered
like that I feel.

I try not to die
while on the move.
Beginning to live
again,
to smile,
to love.

I want solitude
but not being alone,
but that dog's breath,
which is spite drives
away all
without any remedy.

It is that the pain in me
does not pass from nothing
and to the best hunter,
like exploratory eagle,
that the glance loses
for the killing time.

I
do not know if I'll be back to who I was before
I'm not the first one to have
used anything else
to improve the race
and inside your house.

And the feeling used
inevitably is
worse can be
trying to make life
fighting against
anyone who wants to crush you.



Poetry.png

@wordymouth

@wordymouth created a lovely tanka poem from the prompt nothing:

Untitled design (53).png

Click the link to learn how to write a Tanka Poetry



Poetry.png

I hope you enjoyed these poems. If the poem is past payout, please find a recent post to share a vote and comment to support these lovely poets!

A vote on an expired post does go back to the reward pool and has no benefit to you or the author.

expired post.png


Please tag us with #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry so that we can find your work!! And if you see a piece of freewrite poetry of a fellow freewriter which really speaks to you, leave us a link in the comments - or better yet, save the link and enter it in the Friday Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

Happy poetic writing!

Poetry.png

Remember to recommend a fellow Freewrite Poet and Win SBI

Every Friday, we have a recommend a Freewrite Poem contest at the Freewrite House. All you need to do is keep track of your favorite Freewrite poets and leave a comment with at least 50 words telling us about the poem.

We have a random drawing for SBI membership(s) - depending on how many sponsors we have - and also for several 100% upvotes.

Your comment always gets a 20% upvote - you win and win and win by participating!!

Poetry.png

We Welcome Sponsors for our Contests!!!

  • Please consider sponsoring one of our contests. We so much appreciate this and so do all the Freewriters. If you sponsor SBI - you know that you also benefit.
  • Or you can send us Steem or SBD with instructions how you would like it to be used - or leave it up to us.
  • Your name will be mentioned in many of our posts and in the Daily Prompt.
  • Our collective gratefulness will follow you around 😂

Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • Freewrite House Supporter of the Week - Monday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI - Every other Wednesday
  • Freewrite Favorites - Thursday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem - and Win SBI - Friday
  • Over 20 Club - Saturday
  • Poetry Digest - Sunday

Ol53yrO.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Thank you @freewritehouse for the feature and @wordymouth for your appreciation! Sending you love!🧡

You are welcome!

Thanks for featuring my poem. Also, thanks @iamjadeline and @anonymummy for the recommendation.

Thanks @freewritehouse for featuring my poem! And Thankyou @wandrnrose7 for recommending it!😍

I'll be checking these out tonight, once I get feeling back in my lower extremities. 🤣

Thank you for including me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55