A purple squirrel - Day 19 of the 5 Minute FreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

eyeemfiltered1510073488996.jpg
Even if you can't see it, I swear that it has a rich purple fur!

Dear friends, I am a bit proud of this unplanned poetry that came out, which is very personal and talks about my never ending and, at times, melancholic trips. I wish you could read it in Italian, because this little poem has assonances and rhymes and I wanted to give it a certain rhythm that comes out only when you read it in my native language.
I will make a free prose translation in English too. Hope you will enjoy both!


A purple squirrel

The road is unscrolling in front of my eyes, ten years of this road. The vector, the junction between the protrusions of islands of life.
The birthplace of nothing, suspended, don’t breath.

There was a time where I was incredible, now all I can do is to be fully fitted with accessories.

Ten years are sufficient for the volumes to suicide progressively, the abstraction prevails. No depth, just lines at the side of the road, reality is thinner, aborted ideas in the mind of a purple squirrel.

Look at those birch trees, observe them closer and you will see that they’re only the scaffolds of an abandoned cinema set.

One day I will accept your invite, purple squirrel, and dance with you in slow spirals, goodspeed to the little men on the vector. One day a purple squirrel will come for them too.

Scoiattolo viola

La strada si snoda di pioggia svogliata, dieci anni di strada.
Vettore, giuntura fra gli arti di vite diverse ma uguali,
la patria del nulla, sospesa ma lasca, mai stessa, mai nasca la storta fortuna.
Dieci anni di luna son purga bastante per radere al suolo il volume del niente.
Le forme si sfaldano il tre cangia in due, l’astratto prevale nell’occhio di bue
di un polmone che inerte, in dieci anni di vita, si smaga e t’invita allo iato.
Purpurea visione, scoiatttolo alchemico, in coppe incrostate
beviamo veleno, indugiamo a spirale, dieci anni di viaggio per quello che vale.
Valevan le risa, gioielli rubati che piango, ma lasciami andare.
Mi sfaldo, mi sciapo, mi faccio tessuto d’asbesto, migliaia di stringhe confuse nel tardo
venire del niente che prende terreno. Dieci anni di meno.

Sort:  

I love your poem, I had to read it a few times to be able to appreciate some aspects. I think I might have read your Italian with a Brazilian accent! Makes me want to go back to Italy.

Thank you Kate, knowing that it gave you something is a great reward for me. Im glad to know that you are familiar with Italian language, its a very musical one ad much as the portuguese..tell me when you come to Italy, I will send my Italian purple squirrels to welcome you at the border.

I love Italian, I once got to beginner-intermediate level... but now it's been many years since I spoke it, I'd have to swat up to get my level back up, for sure if I went to speak it it would come out all Portuguesy!
Okay, that's a deal, I'm not afraid to stare a purple squirrel in the eye!

Where in Italy are you?

I'm in Venice, ever visited? Portuguesy would be nice to hear still..

Oh yes, I once visited a friend in Udine and I took a day to visit Venice. Seems to be mostly populated by tourists!!! Obviously spectacular architecture

:) Forever watching!

I really need to learn Italian... Beautiful work f3nix! (And your writing is incredible!)

Grazie @brisby! Italian is a very melodic language, especially for poetry ;-)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

bravo @gaman! that's the way!

It is beautiful in English and can only imagine how it is in Italian. And here is the idea I had. since you decided to write in Italian first - how about your spearhead freewrite in Italian - but you have to promise to still play with us English speakers as well.
You could either translate my intro post, or write your own. If you give me the correct Italian spelling, I do an Italian graphic (tell me which background color you want). Then you can post the prompt in Italian and your own post in Italian and also in English (could be two posts). Up to you how active you want to be with nurturing writers along...... Let me know what you think.
And I checked on MAP. The guy who is running it is on vacation right now. You will hear something as soon as it is up and running again :)
today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-20-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-red

I think this could be a great idea @mariannewest! A flow of thoughts can be authentic just in the language you use to think, my mind goes to Joice's Ulysse, for instance..If I had to be serious for a moment.
Unfortunately, as enthusiast as I am with all this, I'm so short with my time I barely can partecipate to your initiative (karate trainings plus my lawyer job putting me under pressure especially in winter..sigh!).. If I post them in italian they should be for the Italian community I think, which I never truly contacted..probably I should do it. Thank you for the MAP update.. You're an incredible concentrate of positive energy :-) I will keep in mind your idea..we see if it's possible maybe in the next months!

No worries. It was just an idea. And believe me - I understand time constraints..... I have 3 lawyers in our family. Two of my brothers in Germany and my step-daughter in the US. Very different realities but always busy.....

Thanks, I felt it was just fair to explain a bit ;-) Thanks God I work within a company, so I still can turn off my mobile at times hehe

Eventually, a poem! A beautiful, disturbing, alchemical poem of happy nigredo and decay. With a dark humor Little Prince drawing.

E hai barato, perché quella inglese è un'altra poesia, non è la prosa di quella italiana. Al massimo possono essere due variazioni su due temi che in parte si intersecano, comunque bravo!

Grazie! Yes I cheated but it seems that m brain cannot reason in the same way at all in the two languages. :-P

This post has received a 0.85 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @f3nix. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54