The Berry Thief

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Funny how things just sometimes tend to unfold before your eyes just like that of the dragonfly and what @oaldamster mentioned that he saw a snail eating his ginger plant in this comment thread on one of my gardening posts. That was just a few days ago and this took place just last night in my garden.

Yes, this original free verse poem is but another one of those "I'm supposed to be posting this but posted this instead moments."

Holding on tight a rough stem one night
A slimy creepy crawly creature was happily nibbling a red currant
Eating in peace, enjoying his succulent treat
Which he climbed up from dusk - all for this juicy treat

Just when he's almost half the half of his meal
Sirens rang with the rustling of leaves
A blinding torch lit before and up above him
A giant box has caught him pretty much red handed.

Yet, gnawing on he went
For anyway it could be the last he might ever feed
The light flashed on and off
The giant box talk then the light went off.

"Hurrraaahhh!!! I survived!" thought he
Then just very very suddenly ..
That half gnawn half of that berry was pulled off his mouth
Plucked off the rough stem also went he.

Wriggling and wiggling didn't work to set himself free
He was tossed in the midst of a pile of long freshly cut weed
He fell flat on his few other creepy crawling friends
Then buried alive with piles after piles of freshly cut weed

" A perfect hiding place from them black birds.." thought they
Hurrah! Hurrah! quietly screamed them creepy crawling gnawers
Happily gnawing went on they
Churn ..churn.. churn .. "Not bad ~~ but I still like them berries better." quietly said he..

I actually tried to take a video of it doing his act but my phone was loaded with pics so I didn't manage to get much of the details but here it is anyway.

I took the pic and the video with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 .



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



fllwme.jpg

Sort:  

Ha, I love the snail story!!! In the video at first I thought you said old lobster. Hehe but it was the fine upstanding @oaldamster instead! You should write more stories like that!!

thank you!
hahah old lobster hahaha
I'd hid your advice chico
definitely :)
specially these days all the gardening posts are going in one flow
am going to bed
too late now
sleep tight
unplugging any second :)
see you in the morrow if I make it :)

Lol, you will make it I know it chica! :O) I had unplugged before you!!

Old Lobster, now I wonder if that account name has been taken yet? 😂

HEhe, it would be a great name to have wouldnt it!!

Hahaha, yes it would, somehow I am very tempted to get the @OldLobster account.

Old Lobster; The Steem blog that has something fishy to it.

Okay, no more coffee for me...

Its funny you say that I was thinking the same!

We could get it and a few of us could delegate SP to it and it would only upvote lobster related content hahaha!

Arrr mate, I guess, in the name of JLP, we already know how this marvelous idea will be replied to! =D

i'll volunteer...hehehe

make it so!!!

:0D

Hahaha, indeed!

lol ... did not see this thread till now
hahahha
you two partying out here while I was absent huh :D

hahaha...same observation on @oaldamster name...at first glance [sorry @oaldamster]. I agree that @englishtchrivy should do this more often...

this snail is gorgeous
isn't it obvious?
still it needs voices
as it's so precious

It is okay @ravenousappetite, I respond to many names. Even to things like: "Oi!" and "Hey You!". Or Old Hamster, hahaha.

And we have a cheese brand here in Nederland called 'Old amsterdam', still have to thank them for fitting my brandname in there. ;-)

remind me to call you with your real name in person
hubby keeps asking what's his name?
I just said - kaas - iets met kaas hihih
kidding

Hahaha Ivy, no it has nothing to do with 'kaas'... (PM @ T)

got it
sorry you told me before but I forgot :D
peace

Beautiful photos and narrative! Thank you for sharing this moving compilation.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

Please support us! Upvote this comment and we will earn more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings!

Telling a story through the use of a poem is very creative and fun to read. Also, including telltale pictures within the post of a poem on steemit greatly increases your chances of having a successful poem.

thank you
yes, that's so true :)

Waw ! Nature has creepy sides as well !
Besides this, a nice poem ! Great ! Just followed you.

Like your poem. Thank you for shearing this post

Great idea, nice result !!!

But did you see the creepy mouth of this horrid beast?

Nice poetry Ivy.

thank you
i tried so I turned on my phone's torch
but I couldn't cause as you can see the stem is there
so I tried again but didn't maybe it was that small slit that looks like a crescent moon ? but then gray?

You have to see it when it has its mouth wide open. It is kind of freaky, when you see it you'll know what I mean.

Now, moving back into break mode. ;-)
Have a nice weekend!

jij ook!
veel plezier
I'll try to catch one haha

#NL Dankje!

#EN Yeah catch one and have it open its horrible mouth! =D

Pretty weird looking.

Great poem beautiful photo. Have a nice week-end my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35