M O R A L | L I E SsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

M  O  R  A  L
L     I     E     S

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal-black-and-white.jpg


spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (2).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (12).jpg

As one begins to moralize,
We are speaking nothing
But a million
Moral lies

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (11).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (3).jpg

For within the chest-cave of
The planet deep down below the veins
Of diamond granite beats a heart of
Truth which sings forsooth in
Stony jaws which hold the laws.

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (2).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (14).jpg

"Thou cannot, and though must not,
Thou shouldn't, lest thou do rot."

It is man that words false rules
Through our negation, for nature only
Speaks through jewels that flourish
In a pure vibration.

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (13).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (6).jpg

How best to live can be discerned
On every leaf, through every worm,
Through stumps of sticks and
Clumps of grass, through the
sunlight and the seasons
As they pass.
Read the skies!
And bloom the soul!
And realize within one's whole:

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (7).jpg
spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (15).jpg

If one begins to moralize,
It is nothing but a million
Moral lies that keep us from
The beauty & the joys of life.

spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (16).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (6).jpg


spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal.jpg


spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (8).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (18).jpg

Written by Daniel Pendergraft
@d-pend 8/15/17
Art by @spikykevin
Support the original
Post here: Red Artistic
Symmetrical Patterns


spiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (17).jpgspiky-kevin-red-flowers-fractal (9).jpg

M    O    R    E
A   L   L   I   E   S

Sort:  

Very deep and profound poem today which says a lot about moral values. I first thought about religion as this man created system had a lot of thou shall not this and thous shall not that. Many religions tell you what man must do or not do but it does not flow with nature, life and living. It is so structured that you miss the true essence of universal flows. The change I see in the way you write, to me is blooming to another level. There is a smoothness to your words. I really like it! I say, "Go with the flow"!!!

hey man, I have not been here for the longest time.

In steemit time anyway.

and a real good post to come back in on.

I need you to format my blogs.

It is so hot here right now that I am melting

I see you have a post about the most dangerous writing app
I am heading there next

I really liked my piece that I got out, but I lost too much

Haha, Steemit time is quite rapid. Thanks for stopping by @spaingaroo.

I can empathize with the heat as I'm from Dallas TX originally,
where it sometimes reaches over 100F for days at a time.

Yep, I discovered #tmdwa through you! I gave you a shout out
In the first couple episodes:

Episode 1 of TMDWA:"Queries of Unrest"
Episode 2 of TMDWA:"Meanderings of Nil"

Amazing. I appreciated the verse and the message. Once again you make me think. Thanks!

Thank you for the support and I'm glad you enjoyed the piece. Have a great day :)

I loved the play on words and the internal rhymes. This was fun to read, and I enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks very much @moeknows. I don't often use rhyming in poems except sparingly, and when I do I favor complex internal rhyme schemes. Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading.

Love this! And do you know about the new #original-content tag? If your images are your own, as well

Hey @uniwhisp!! I saw that post and that's a really cool thing! The thing is, I use stock images and blend/ manipulate them digitally to create something 'pseudo-original.' If I had a better quality camera I'd probably use more of my own images. You know, that inspires me to do so, even if the images aren't the best quality. I'll put something in the #original-content tag in the near future :D Thank you!

Woot! Yeah, you can do it! :D

Thank you for food for thought and have a great day, you too @d-pend modern day Shakespeare (hope it is not over the top, but keep doing what you are doing, you are truly great!) ^^

I just love the imagery you create @d-pend! :-) Cheers~!

Yeah, really nice work here.

Thank ye kindly!

Agreed nice poet thanks for shairing @fkofficials

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51