100 Days of Poetry Challenge: Day 8

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Several years ago, I had a moment with Jesus. A “vision” maybe. I’m not sure what you’d call it, but it was meaningful for me. It helped change how I see myself and how I see Him. It was tender and special, and it inspired this poem.


A1B000F7-2499-454D-AB7B-4562E39B78D3.jpeg

Cherry Blossoms Drifted

I came upon a forest clearing,
And stepped inside it’s light.

Encircled by a glowing warmth,
It drew me into sight.

Of two stone benches face-to-face,
Enclosed with blossomed boughs.

He beckoned me to join Him there,
And peacefully repose.

He waited for me patiently,
No intent to rush me.

Sitting at the bench opposing,
Nervous in uncertainty.

I wondered if my words had hurt,
Or if I brought Him shame?

Had the things I’d done angered Him?
Was coming here in vain?

He gazed at me with longing eyes,
As cherry blossoms drifted.

Reached out His hand and touched my face,
And heaviness was lifted.

The eyes, the touch were just enough,
Adequate to ensure me

That here is where I want to be,
Embraced in His Eternity.


5FB07EA5-16AC-4055-AF90-8763CBEF942E.jpeg


All images from Pexels


Written as part of @d-pend's revolutionary poetry initiative The 100 Day Poetry Challenge undertaken for Steemit School.

Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


Hi! My name is Coach JJ and I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years! I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. But, my vision is to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians.

I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello!

Happy Steeming,
Coach JJ


The STEEM Engine



Sort:  

Thank you for sharing @coachjj. This is a sweet poem and you have a blossom that will not fade away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83