Summer {An original poem}

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Summer

She is stricken, the lusty maiden,
Yet scant symptoms:
A hint of shadow beneath bright eyes,
A subtly deflated stride.

By her labour we feast:
Fruit, grain, roast and wine.
Fattening as she fades;
Revelling in her name and
Drunkenly denying her inevitable demise.

Too soon must we mourn:
Sorrow in lengthening shadows
And in goose-bumped arms and
In leaves driven down by the wind and the rain;
Yet occasional solace, we find,
In the golden crisp of a clear autumn day.

Now we plod our drizzly, muddy boot way
With her spark smouldering warm in our hearts:
Thoughts of her bouncing locks and twirling laugh.
A vision to push back dark, low clouds
That creep and threaten to smother.

For she always returns, like a spell,
Our lusty maiden.



This allegorical poem about summer was inspired by Still I shudder by @ericvancewalton. His poem made me smile, because he mentions his beagle and they are one of my favourite dog breeds.

Fridge-raiding beagle

Sort:  

This was an absolutely beautiful poem. Thank you for the good morning read

Thanks for your lovely comment.

Wow, that's awesome; really beautiful style; the lusty maiden definitely made me smile :-)

I'm off to check out more of your work now!

Cg

Thanks, that means a lot.

wow am blown away. awesomeness.

Nature isn't usually my thing-my poetry is generally moody like yours! I just read all your poems btw and am very impressed. Definitely join steemprentice!!!

K. Wow thanks for reading. I followed you. So will get your poems in my feed. Will join steemprentice too. :)

OOOOH very nice!!!! <3 eric too! :D

Seems we've both hit poetic clover today with our images and words! WOW!! 10/10 for us both! https://steemit.com/poetry/@mindhunter/this-orb-of-wonder-original-poem-mindhunter

I already voted you up and stuck you in Curie-great fusion ;)
And I get $3 finder's fee!

I did tinker with a few of the lines of the poem for a few hours - I do tend to do that. Thanks for all your turbo boosts!! :))))

That is a decent poem. Good to see he's improving and not resting on his laurels but I'd still like to see something emotional and real from him, that I really want to vote for.

Just looking at his picture I can feel the energies of pent-up emotional constipation. AGREED @cathi-xx

You reesteemed, I'm very flattered thank you.

You're welcome. How did you find out?

I went to your page to follow.

Thank you that is very kind. Only follow if you like it though:)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Nice "cycle of the seasons poem." So, we are following each other, are we not? Since I am just really starting, and we all need a helping hand, I am going to start, daily, looking at the Blogs of my Followers, finding things I like that are over one day old and less than a month old, then upvoting them and resteeming them. I would ask you to do the same for me. This way, we all get continual exposure. That is what we all need, right? I am staring today. I will look at your Blog and resteem and upvote the ones I like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47