CONTRADICTION (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Our consciousness
is the conjuror
of many contradictions,
this world
in which we live
is a lavish stage
of grand illusion,

each act is filled
with sharp edges
and serene softness,
twisted knots,
and breathless beauty,

reality is nothing
but our soul's mirror,
it takes such courage
to gaze into it,
and admit our thoughts
create everything we see

but sometimes
it's not bravery,
sometimes it's just that we're
tired of being broken and
simply have no more
tears to cry.

Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Superb poem @ericvancewalton somehow even there is tears and sadness in this poem, your work makes me happy.
I wrote poems too...but I did not put them on this site , yet ( maybe in the future), because when I write a story or a poem it is like I am cutting my soul in two and feel pain.
OK...BUT...to explain...
Each writer is different and what I mean is ..I dunno If this was your intention but when I read your poems I actually feel more positive, more confident.
And for this :

Thank you!

@cynetyc I'm glad to hear my work has that effect. Before Steemit I struggled for so many years as I writer I think the act of writing and my spirituality was all I had to fuel my optimism. Writing became a form of therapy. My poetry probably reflects that. I hope you do post your work. Please let me know when you do!

Beautiful poetry! I shared on twitter.

Awesome, thank you! I appreciate it.

Decent imagery with excellent rhythm and pace. Many more people can agree that they hate poetry than can agree about what poetry is. I like this poem, as I know what it is, and I approve of it. 7/10.

How do you know me so well, Eric? :)
This one really grabbed me today. Thank you!

I'm glad you connected with it @fairytalelife! : ) I missed my post yesterday because we were so busy with the move. It felt so strange to miss a day after over three months of twice daily posts.

Hamlet- "Thus conscience makes cowards of us all."

Tears are what flows up from the surface, when you run out, then what's left is your creativity. Let that flow then...

Absolutely! You nailed it.

Another poignant poem, thanks!

Thanks for your comment, @natureofbeing!

Love it, our thoughts create everything. So true. Another amazing poem from the heart and soul.

Thank you, @angierose! Your kind words are appreciated!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65