You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three Days' Longing

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A Promethus reference without a lick of flame?! i'm not sure how it was done, yet here we are.
ironic absence in a piece about absence. too. good.

The cyclical nature of the narrator's predicament:

call it back / see it leave / beckon to stay

and represented even better in the logic loop here:

Without your light, I can't draw breath

Without your breath, I cannot see.

creates the truly paradoxical feel of a life without light, growing back his liver only to have it forceably torn out again.

If there ever was a more apt literary allusion to the longing of a feeling of missing a piece of oneself, i certainly can't think of it.

Bravo, Guy, i still can't quite wrap my head around how you are able to maintain such quality in your writings with so much output. Puts me to absolute shame!

As much as i enjoyed 'Acceptance', this and 'And Also The Moon are the highest quality of bookends for this trilogy, indicitive of the strength of your first and last lines, i think.

Thank you for the share, my friend, very much enjoyed the read.

(lines 2, 4 & first half of 5 in this critique were lifted by me from the author during feedback and editing processes and are creative commons.)

Sort:  

For those who missed the note, Alain is too cute by half here. He said the poem is lacking flame, being about Prometheus and all, and I replied that it's a poem about the absence, especially of light, so it makes sense.

And also drew his attention to the drawing and cyclical nature of No light > No breath > no sight(light).

Anyway, I'm glad you liked the poem, Alain, and gave me feedback on it while I was writing it.

I have to say this piece isn't part of a trilogy with the two pieces you mentioned. Perhaps it's part of a double with "Acceptance", as that too is about being shorn of the warmth of one's loved one, though more due to self-imposed reasons than here. "And Also the Moon" is actually the last of the latest batch of "overflowing love" poems (but then, what is this one? :P), but is also a double with "The Mute Poet" of me deciding to actually venture beyond pure free verse.

It's interesting to try different things. But unlike with "Poem of Protection - Words of Warding" where I channeled things related to my normal nature without feeling them organically, the last two pieces came unbidden, and I'd have much rather kept at the more fun pieces.

As for the output and quality, I'll blame two things: 1. My muse. The pieces, they keep on coming. 2. I usually write my pieces quickly, and they come mostly formed. Fiction, poetry, or non-fiction. If you need weeks of editing per piece, then either the output goes down, or the quality. But when this is how you write, this is how you write.
But then of course the question is, how much better could it be were I to spend a week or two per piece? But that's not how my writing or inspiration work, so I don't really worry about it too much.

And I actually didn't intend for that "missing piece of myself" to come out of Prometheus directly. But I guess some part of myself did, because who said you can never learn anything about yourself from your own poetry? :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12