Acceptance

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Kaparot.jpg

I sit down by the dark river
of letting go.
Old friends that we are, it's been a while.
It is time to release another part of my self.

I sit on the banks, as I watch them come;
the people who seek the cessation of pain.
The gods themselves, seeking protection.
Nothing ever changes, by the dark river.

Another old friend passes me by,
he lifts his hand in greeting,
showing me two silver coins.
The passenger looks at me with my own eyes.

Still, I sit by the dark river.
Nothing lives here.
Nothing leaves here.
I sit and wait.

He ferries them across,
one by one,
my traitorous memories,
my traitorous past.

I consider stepping inside.
One way or another, this will go away.
My divine soul, protected against all harm,
or my mortal heart, stopped cold.

Fifteen times,
the ferryman crosses over.
Fifteen times,
times two coins.

He stops before me.
He offers me a ride.
I will not pay his toll.
I've already paid it in full.

I rise.
The deed is done.
I have cast the hurt away.
I turn, smiling,
ready to face you once more.

Separator line_smallEST.jpg

This piece, as all others, is dedicated with love to @mamadini. I would like to thank the kind people at the Isle of Write community for giving me feedback on this piece, that is quite different from the last few I have published.

Image source. The image used depicts the Jewish practice of "Kaparot" (Literally "Atonement"), as part of Yom Kippur - The Day of Atonement. I actually wished to find a good image for the Jewish practice of "Tashlich," (Literally "Cast off", as a command) where on the New Year, observant Jews throw breadcrumbs to a body of river as a symbolic gesture of letting go of their sins, but no such image of good quality was to be found.

Check out my latest pieces:

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

© Guy Shalev 2018.

Sort:  

Pensive indeed, I like how the last stanza has a sense of; perhaps not joy, but the dark clouds cleared away and the first ray of light beaming down upon you as you leave.
Just the images that were evoked from me.

I like how even you can be seen to appreciate the light that breaches the darkness, dear Twinky <3

And yes, it's a message of moving on, after putting away what weighs on you. It is not joy, you've still cast aside a part of yourself. But it's progress.

i really like that you weren't heavy handed in your building of the allusion to Styx and the surrounding mythology. your writing places the words in the hand of the reader and it seems almost to slowly unravel, like a timeless scroll, as more and more is revealed. it makes this an incredibly rewarding poem to read.

the pensive pacing that you have painstakingly plodded the reader through reflects the introspective facing of one's past self in such an artful fashion. again, like waiting for ripples to quiet so that you can see the reflection in the river.

always so well thought out and crafted, Guy, i wouldn't be surprised at all if Charon himself were to ask you for your two cents on things - thank you for the share!

That was a cute finale to the comment. I'll try to not let it get to my head. If only because I don't feel yet ready to meet Charon again for a while, if you know what I'm saying ;-)

Thank you for the comment! And yes, this piece is all about the pacing. Well, the pacing in service to the theme and message, not for its own sake.

And if anything, I feel I was almost too heavy-handed with Styx, but then again, you can't not spill the beans when Charon shows so prominently, right?

I enjoyed the images you put forth in this piece and the metaphor of the Styx, keeping with your mythological trademark. I related this piece to the act of letting go of a desire or dream and how the act of letting go kind of saves you. Because holding on too long could take you through hell. It's a really refreshing way of looking at something that most people would take as a negative, which it may, in fact, be but it's not one that will ruin you. Thank you for sharing this. It's not often that ones gains an entirely new perspective on one's self.

There are plenty of pieces speaking of the desirability of letting go. Especially in eastern thought, speaking of "letting go of worldly desires and earthly attachments," though that's not quite the capitalist mindset most of us are raised in, is it? And then again, in our culture, I guess we could encounter it among narratives of overcoming addictions.

Here is another take to consider (not saying whether this is the intended one, but I like mythical reads on things) - what if you need to go to the underworld to lose a bit of yourself? To prove by trial that you are worthy of the feat?
What if you need to go to the underworld to lose a part of yourself, because afterwards, you must be reborn, without said part?

And I'm glad you liked the piece and the imagery, Moe. I appreciate the comment. It's interesting, but I don't set out to use the mythical imagery, it is just the way the poems come out.

As for the "new perspective," I guess it was something you thought of, but needed help releasing, because what you get out of writing is very much dependent on what you bring into it.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

I like the storyline, geekorner, as always you tug the reader in quickly and provoke deep emotion.

One question. Did you purposely separate my self? I find a new meaning if so, different nuances, by doing so.

I find it interesting that the price is two coins. It makes me consider the act as more valuable.

The passenger looks at me with my own eyes.

I like this, and I have actually used this in not-so-many words in my own writing. Years ago, this seemed to actually "happen" to me, can't explain it, but that line! Nice verse.

Thank you!

"My self" is purposefully separated. Yes. During editing, someone commented on that, and I made it clear that it is very much intended. "Myself" means "me", "My self" means "part of my psyche," here, referencing to talk of "The Self".

I find it interesting that the price is two coins.

The price for crossing River Styx is two coins, and why people were buried with two coins placed over their eyes.

The passenger looks at me with my own eyes.

I think I've come across this image before. It's a powerful one. The dichotomy and the loss of space and identity of seeing yourself in front of you. And why I find it so easy to just unintentionally self-hypnotize while looking at myself in the mirror, into my own eyes.

I assumed my self was intentional. Thank you for clarifying that. Your explanation of the two coins did bring back the story to me.
Again, I loved the poem and all the rich layers.

Great piece, thanks for sharing. I couldn't help but reflect on the third line in the first verse

'It is time to release another part of my self'

I think that align with the tittle, Acceptance. We must first accept the things that are ours and then decided what to do with them.

I love your imagery too... Could almost find myself by the river

Yes. You must sit by and come to accept who you are, and slowly deal with shedding it. These things take time.

And thank you for the kind words :)

You're welcome

I really like your repetitions. The give the poem such weight and beauty.

Nothing lives here.
Nothing leaves here.

Fifteen times,
the ferryman crosses over.
Fifteen times,
times two coins.

The notion of casting the hurt away is so powerful. Thanks for sharing this.

Who doesn't wish to cast the hurt away? Judaism has two similar practices related to the Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur) about it, so it's very much been present here.

And yes, repetition can be beautiful, yet in most places outside poetry and mythology it is frowned upon. And I've always been drawn to the mythical storytelling structure, so it's always been something I've soaked up over the years.
Thank you for the kind words, and yes, I too find the repetitive poems to be especially beautiful :)

Powerful imagery. Thank you.

Thank you for the kind words! It seems imagery is my forte. Now to identify and work on my weaknesses :)

I'm sure your friends on the Isle can help with that :p

Hurt eats deeply especially if it is from friends and loyalist. A rumination will surely give a reason for the act but with time, it heals and off it goes. That is the acceptance we must seek

There are no words that can perfectly describe this poem. Perfectly made indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41