"Sphinx Song" - A Poem from Nearly 20 Years AgosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

sphinx2.jpg

I wrote a lot of poetry back during my undergrad days, but once I found that I enjoyed doing fiction more, I never picked it back up (despite filling a huge notebook with well-transcribed versions along with accompanying images). Since Steemit seems to have a thriving (and growing) poetry community, I thought I'd add a little fuel to that particular fire. I hope you enjoy :)


Oedipus saw right through me tonight
And left his eyeball on my dresser -
An unwanted guardian to watch over.

Predict me my future, show me my fate
Get it over with so I can decide
Whether I want to change it or not.

Spin me a riddle and every time I answer
I'll give you the wrong one.
As long as you laugh, it's okay.


sphinx.JPG


Previous Poetry Posts:

"Arizona" - https://steemit.com/poetry/@bucho/arizona-a-poem-from-nearly-20-years-ago
"Lasso the Moon, George Bailey" - https://steemit.com/poetry/@bucho/lasso-the-moon-george-bailey-a-poem-from-nearly-20-years-ago

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58