"Arizona" - A Poem from Nearly 20 Years AgosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

alice wellinger.jpg
(Image by Alice Wellinger)

I wrote a lot of poetry back during my undergrad days, but once I found that I enjoyed doing fiction more, I never picked it back up (despite filling a huge notebook with well-transcribed versions along with accompanying images). Since Steemit seems to have a thriving (and growing) poetry community, I thought I'd add a little fuel to that particular fire. I hope you enjoy :)


"Arizona"

Hand in the fire, thumb is ablaze
Hitchhiking his way through catharsis
Riding the tailpipe of the next passersby
Who see fit to give him passage.

Rucksack in tow and toes to the ground
The shoes of his soul worn through
To the skin, forcing him transcendental
And teaching him roadside religion.


arizona.JPG

Sort:  

@bucho Your generate up is spectacular. Mad regard for sticking as a result of many of the hardships, Many of us would've Give up A great deal before. Upvoted.
Certainly definitely superior write-up. Resteemed

I like this poem. Especially this line, "Hitchhiking his way through catharsis". Were you traveling through Arizona at the time by chance? I'm from Arizona and was curious why you chose the title.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44