"Lasso the Moon, George Bailey" - A Poem from Nearly 20 Years AgosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

gbailey.png

I wrote a lot of poetry back during my undergrad days, but once I found that I enjoyed doing fiction more, I never picked it back up (despite filling a huge notebook with well-transcribed versions along with accompanying images). Since Steemit seems to have a thriving (and growing) poetry community, I thought I'd add a little fuel to that particular fire. I hope you enjoy :)


"Lasso the Moon, George Bailey"

I had my second chance tonight;
Through fire and brimstone I walked
While my 'inner child' screamed
And kicked and refused to go,
Refused to become a man.

I pulled and tugged him through the heat
And handed him his rope.
I had him tie his own knot
Because that's what they did to me.

His little fingers, young and smooth,
They fumbled with the twine
As he gazed longingly through the night
At the ivory sphere shining down on him.

He waited...
And tossed his lasso.


lasso.JPG


Previous Poetry Posts:

"Arizona" - https://steemit.com/poetry/@bucho/arizona-a-poem-from-nearly-20-years-ago

Sort:  

@bucho Interesting Tale. Hope you obtain what you would like from this job. Have got a pleasant working day. Upvoted.
Pleasant posts sir... I fully concur along with you. Adore it. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72