Ambiguous Object / A Lie for the Laundress

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


A Lie for the Laundress


Who yells the loudest?

The artist isn't always in control; they may have an idea what they want a particular piece to say, but the work itself will sometimes yell louder. It is as if the work is saying, you really don't know much about me, so let me explain.

With A Lie For the Laundress I was thinking strength, power, something industrial, something masculine. But when I added the spikes to the iron's handle I was suddenly seeing Picasso's bull from his famous anti-war painting Guernica; a painting where people and animals alike were broken by war. I recalled that within the confusion there was one moment of victory, the bull, the national symbol of Spain was standing strong.

And so I started to get it, my work was telling me, strength in times of oppression. I never saw it coming, but went with the flow. And then the piece spoke again, LOOK AT THE IRON, we are talking about the oppression of women.

This image was first published in Right Hand Pointing.
If you missed the first Ambiguous Object CLICK HERE.
If you missed the second Ambiguous Object CLICK HERE.
If you missed the third Ambiguous Object CLICK HERE.


Laundromat

When I wrote this poem I was thinking of the old saying, A man might work from sun to sun, but a woman's work is never done.


Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13