[Plagiarism] @factsout stealing other peoples misinformation

in #plagiarism6 years ago (edited)


Stumbling around through different tags on Steemit, I came across this post that was recently sharted out by @factsout. I read it out of curiosity, and was in the middle of writing a response when I came across the original blog post. This has quite literally been copied and pasted, spelling and grammar mistakes and all. Ignoring the bullsh!t contained within this post, the fact that this profile has been allowed to steal others work and profit from it is shameful.

But John, maybe it was just a one off? Unfortunately not, as they are even stealing content directly from other Steemit users. Compare the two following posts, and you'll see this is just a content thief through and through.

@factsout post: https://steemit.com/myth/@factsout/mythological-creature-16

@nadila post: https://steemit.com/fiction/@nadila/legend-of-minotaur-monster

Yet the community seems absolutely fine with this blatant content theft. If anyone can summon the @steemcleaners to sort this mess out, I'd really appreciate it. They don't respond to me for some reason. I don't know about you guys, but I find this kind of behaviour disgusting and detrimental to the Steemit platform. Let's stamp out this lazy content stealing once and for all and let's #MakeSteemitGreat.

I'd really appreciate any support or advice regarding this situation. My voting power isn't enough to stop him, although I have started flagging offending posts. If you could resteem this post, or bring it to the attention of someone with a bit more clout. Peace!

All images are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I wonder sometimes if people are crossposting or sharing from their anchor blog on another place (which they shouldn't because it's not clear) but that's me when I'm feeling idealistic and like people don't suck lol Usually it's plagiarism :( I find my time is more limited now to blog and I'm spending more time vetting new people to follow to make sure they have original content. There was a bot called @OriginalWorks I really liked it although it was criticized for not being effective and basically broken. It just does writing contests now. I did really like getting their seal on my posts though even under the circumstance it was an easy way to say it was original.

As much as I dislike spending time finding the original writers it reminds me of my publishing days that it is just actually pretty much how it is in the publishing world in general. It takes years to find good reliable writers and develop relationships with them. So really Steemit follows this path. It's antiquated and unexpected for a digital modern convention but that's what I've observed.

It's a real problem here, and they're purposefully doing it in a way that circumvents the bots and services setup to try and tackle the problem.
I used to love @OriginalWorks, but I use @thundercurator now. Definitely worth checking out.

That's rotten stuff... Make it great ;)

The most ironic post I came across was one that was written about how bad plagarism was, but was infact copied and pasted from another blog!

I see alot of plagarism on here or where they have taken like 90% of others information and just added a little bit extra. It is annoying! Lets hope there is more of a crackdown on it in the future

ha bloody hell, I doubt they saw the irony in that.

It's irritating to see so much go unchallenged, and even sometimes just blindly upvoted because the account has a fair amount of Steem Power. If it wasn't for the ridiculous content of the post, I probably wouldn't have noticed it myself.

I can't figure out why the bots like @cheetah and @steemcleaners aren't paying these accounts more attention.

I just about fell of my chair when I realised! Atleast I can see the irony and huor in it even if it is pretty annoying and frustrating - I spend a lot of time writing and researching content and lots of others put out trash or plagarised content.

The trending page has got worse in the 2 months I have been here - barely look at it now. Just seems like whales and people who write sub par content and then spend money on bots to get it to the trending page!

Yeah @cheetah [icks up some things but not all. Lets hope they can make some changes in the future to fix this. Guess its up to usto flag this content...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39