One Eye The Robot Cowboy [ Pixel art Process + Tutorial ]

in #pixelartweekly7 years ago (edited)

Animating is really fun and approachable

gip2hy.gif

Hello Steemit I am proud to yet again provide you all with another pixel art tutorial but before we even start I reccomend you go give @jonny-clearwater 's profile a look as he hosts something called pixel art weekly! This weeks theme was the wild west and ooooohh boy the first thing that came up in my mind was one eye
Click the link right HERE

one_eye_by_zeurel.png

So you may be wondering who's One eye? One eye is from a short film made in new grounds a very old and retro flash site where animators and developers come along together to create something. The short film was called A robot western By zeurel.

asf.png
I absolutely loved this film but cannot believe it's been almost a decade since i've watched it, the villain was just so cool!!! Just look at how dynamic this guy is.
Anyhoo enough of my rambles.

Now lets go to the tutorials!

2.gif

The way I made this fluid is by making body parts lag behind eachother, so your head moves a frame ahead first than your body than your arms then your hips then your legs! If you can do this then it'll make life in animation pretty fun!
One eye.gifOne eye base.gif
Sadly I've progressed too fast in animating to show you the tip of what i mean in an upscales size but the one on the right is more fluid due to its swaying and lagging behind the body by one pixel and frame.

3.gif
Now we add the head.

4.gif
Fill in that body and by now this would've taken me around 50 minutes. Im putting lots of effort to make this smoother than my usual arts!

5.gif
Gotta put that cowboy hat in.

6.gif
Colour in One eyes steel arms and boots!

7.gif
Add a swing effect to make this more smooth!

8.gif
Place the gun in his hand, since we're dealing at such a low resolution the gun is only 3 pixels maximum.

9.gif
Effects of the gun !

10.gif
And last but not least what makes something more cowboy themed than a cape.

11.gif
Added in a back ground and now you notice how the table only has a few dots and lines. If I were to put every individual detail of each plank I would distract the viewer from our character "one eye" Which is not what we want. Sometimes to put detail in you need to restrain you self. [ less is more ]

12.gif
And thats it to my pixel art process. Absolutely anyone of any age and level of skill can do pixel its very simple, all you need is a pencil tool which is what every art program have and use a low resolution preferably

  • 16 x 16 px
  • 32 x 32 px
  • 64 x 64 px
  • 128 x 128 px

I hope you enjoyed this content and learned a bit and i'll upload the speedlapse really soon. I wish to see you guys vote in the pixel art weekly and/or even participate.
Cheers @lunaticmoon

  • canvas : 64 x 64 px
  • Program used : aseprite
  • Time taken : 2 ~ 3 hours.

    U5dry8PwHEY127jKoVY1LtGC4B2baPN_1680x8400.png

Link to speedlapse.

Sort:  

hahaha awesome ! Thanks for sharing your knowledge but are you doing this by hand in the soft ? and did you learn animation principles or is it with you feelings ? =D 2-3 hours to do this is short oO

Oohh! hihi @alcy!
Yeah its all done by hand in the software and as for animations principles I did look up some free pdfs and guides just by typing animation principles on google HAHAH! Then after a while that knowledge was combined with how i felt and also it's good to stand up and do the motion yourself as well!

And really?! I thought it was long HAHA!

Oh awesome ! I remember taking 6 hours of work for a poor 4sec animation haha so this is pretty fast for me =D

Show me sometime on discord hehe <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30