SPOTTED #72: Piano Tuning

in #piano7 years ago

Piano Tuning

I had been invited to a friends house and in preparation for a house-concert, he had a famous Piano tuner from France tuning and preparing the Piano for him. I have seen many pianos in my life but never had seen a piano tuning. I guess that 99% of the world population didn't see this yet so I wanted to blog about it

Opened up Piano

2017-07-25_17.15.55


2017-07-25_17.15.58


2017-07-25_17.16.19

If someone told me that a piano is like an engine of a car and you can take out most of it I would not have believed it. Seeing that piano being opened was super interesting and the inside looked like an engine of an Ferrari.

Have you ever seen a piano tuning ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food, Drinks, Gadgets)
Steemperlen (German Version, Series Ended)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Frequent Traveller (New series about Travel Hacks and FFPs) 
HEAVEN (NEW Luxury Travel Magazine)
FARM
German Sausages
GADGET

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life

Sort:  

I'm full time too; I actually read stuff..

Nice article. I grew up in a house with a grand piano. My mother is a concert pianist, in the symphony at one time. She is 80 and still plays; I was listening to her last weekend.

A piano needs to be tuned about once a year, to keep it in tune for it's entire lifetime. If it is not tuned regularly, it will fall out of tune and not be possible to keep it tuned for long periods.

A piano is never tuned exactly; because of so many vibrating strings, it has to be tuned in a relative manner, to even out the various pitches so that it will sound in tune. Pianos are usually tuned to a modified version of the system called equal temperament.

Fine piano tuning requires an assessment of the vibration interaction among notes, which is different for every piano, thus in practice requiring slightly different pitches from any theoretical standard.

In otherwords, it's hella hard to tune a piano, and very different from tuning my guitar..

Yes that guy was tuning it for 2 days

Sounds like maybe the piano had not been tuned in a long time. I've only see it take 4 hours or so..

Okay friend. Thanks for posting a new post.
Give me some minute to write my lyric here.
I will sing here on your post.

Today is the day.
I've got some dollar from upvote. Like yesterday
Like a few weeks. Thanks.
Just hope upvote. Thanks all

@knozaki2015 - I have seen the innards of a piano in a museum in London. Since I am an engineer, I spent some time understanding how the keystrokes translated into the wires vibrating and ultimately a musical note being produced. It was quite interesting to see even the wooden structure of the piano playing a part in amplification of sound through resonance. I have never seen a piano being tuned though. I listen to music but have 'two left feet' when it comes to understanding tones and levels. :)
Thanks for this interesting post. Upvoted.

I found it super intersting seeing that guy tuning the piano. I am not a piano player but cleaning and tuning is surely important for a piano

Its so soothing to watch and the piano tunings . I think it is the best stress buster for a human body. Thnx alot such a beautiful info. Do share such very frequently 😘

I am sure it must look interesting and sound a little funny too - the plinks and plonks must have sounded like Disney cartoon soundtrack :)

16 views and 125 votes... nice :)

Yeah, that's kinda what's happening on Steemit today. It's nearly impossible to really read and follow all the content that gets on this platform, so actually reading the blogs and interacting with each other via the comments section is actually too small a part of the Steemit experience.

It seems to be all about being present at Discord, interacting with Steemians, doing meaningful things for the community and making friends which in turn leads to great relationships and automated upvotes (via bots) from your fellow Steemians. But those upvotes rarely come from users that actually read the blogs.

But then, the subject of this post is piano tuning, and man, what patience, artistry and craftmanship that takes! Awesome.

while I know that most people dont read blogs. I manually curate 3-4 hours a day through posts. and I try to answer each comment in my blog. the bots are important too, you might want to read the link at the end of my blog how my first 3 month on steemit went. I have to update that, as most of that data is outdated, but I am sure it will help others to keep blogging. only if you keep bloggin you will have sucess. nothing different than having sucess on other platforms.

14 hours per day on Steemit! You have certainly deserved every single upvote you ever got. Mad respect.

source.gif

thanks ! well it might be 10 hours per day these days. but still trying to get steemit to the ppoint where it is recoginzed as a major sns. cheers !

Wow, 3-4 hours of curation is a great commitment to Steemit. I will read your blog post on your first 3 months.

up to 36, yeah there are many bots on steemit.

I love the piano!, nice post

I love old art pieces

That is one of the most complicated stuff here on earth.
More complicated than the blockchain.

indeed. it took him countless tuning sessions until the concert

I'm better off tuning a guitar. Waaaay more simpler. :)

I have ever learned Piano by myself. It's really difficult to play 1 song. This is the first time I have seen a piano tuning. I don't have enough money to buy Piano for myself. ^^

Love the post - Great Pictures and the perfect outlook

I love piano

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55