You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPOTTED #72: Piano Tuning

in #piano7 years ago

I'm full time too; I actually read stuff..

Nice article. I grew up in a house with a grand piano. My mother is a concert pianist, in the symphony at one time. She is 80 and still plays; I was listening to her last weekend.

A piano needs to be tuned about once a year, to keep it in tune for it's entire lifetime. If it is not tuned regularly, it will fall out of tune and not be possible to keep it tuned for long periods.

A piano is never tuned exactly; because of so many vibrating strings, it has to be tuned in a relative manner, to even out the various pitches so that it will sound in tune. Pianos are usually tuned to a modified version of the system called equal temperament.

Fine piano tuning requires an assessment of the vibration interaction among notes, which is different for every piano, thus in practice requiring slightly different pitches from any theoretical standard.

In otherwords, it's hella hard to tune a piano, and very different from tuning my guitar..

Sort:  

Yes that guy was tuning it for 2 days

Sounds like maybe the piano had not been tuned in a long time. I've only see it take 4 hours or so..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55