Phubbing and Its Negative Social Effects

in #phubbing6 years ago (edited)

Are you a phubber? Phubbing is a combo of phone and snubbing. It's when you ignore someone in a social setting. It's a nonverbal insult signaled by your eyes dropping down to your device, and not directed towards the person you are interacting with.



Source, CC BY 2.0

This behavior can go unnoticed by those doing it, but the person on the receiving end picks up on it more easily. Phubbing can have a negative effect on relations with others, as it threatens our basic need to belong, to feel like someone is paying attention to us, like someone cares to listen and make contact.

A recent study was published in the Journal of Applied Social Psychology. It looked at the negative social consequences that arise from phubbing. 153 participants watched a 3 minute animation of 2 people having a conversation. They took the position of one of the two people in the conversation and characterized the situations as either: extensive phubbing, partial phubbing, or no phubbing.

Unsurprisingly, the results showed that the more phhubbing present, the more peope felt fundamental needs were threatened, and the more significant was the degree of negative impact on the quality of communication and relationship satisfaction. As a result, a sense of belonging and connectedness was reduced.

Social situations are negatively impacted by this modern social phenomenon. When we get on our phones and ignore people around us, it hurts others in ways we may not realize. We should be more mindful and realize the consequences to our behavior in this ever-expanding technological age.

When we check our phones, paying attention to notifications on social media or emails we get, we signal that we aren't that interested in hearing what someone has to say, and instead are more concerned with our latest Instagram updates or Twitter feeds. No matter how important or productive it is to do it, we are telling people around us that they aren't as important, or at least not as interesting.



Source, CC BY-SA 3.0

In romantic relationships, this can be especially troubling. Romantic satisfaction requires intimate connection, such as being accessible to the other, being open, to listen, respond, empathize and engage in each others attentional needs. Try to put the phone away and connect more. Make and schedule phone-free evenings if it's required.


References:


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

If this happened to me recently with my wife, she was talking to me and I was publishing and she asked me what she thought of what she proposed to me and I told her that it was what she said, she got very angry with me and lasted 2 days without speak to me for that reason now I only publish 2 daily publications to dedicate more time to my wife.

I told her that it was what she said

LMAO, nice try there ;) hehe

only publish 2 daily publications to dedicate more time to my wife.

Smart move bro, smart move :)

now my wife has punished me ... because of steemit lol .. that unfortunately .. lol

Sadly I have done this in family meetings without realizing it.

The thing is if we get bored we tend to search for entertaining things without giving it too much thought, and yes, it might be disrespectful even if the person don't want to insult anyone...

But we should not think that in the past, when we had no technology we were all social beings, not at all, we can always find something that distract us and avoid us from interacting, look at this picture for example

The majority if not all of the people aren't chatting with each other, they are reading the newspaper instead...

newspaper.jpg

So, its true that technology can distract from social interaction, but it is not that like its the first time this is happening.

Well, there is a difference between just being around people in society, and being in a socially interacting scenario where you are supposed to be interacting with others ;) But yes we are wanting to put our attention on a point of focus, like newspapers, a book, phone, laptop, etc.

My wife and I agreed on taking sometime to put down any electronic device we have to spend that time together.

We did realize that the lack of interaction because of our dependence on them was taking toll of our relationship.

Good, glad to see you recognized it and have taken steps to mitigate the detrimental effects on the relationship :)

Nowadays, phubbing is like a typical social scenario. Have you ever saw a group of six people, waiting for their dinner in a restaurant and just staring at their phones instead of communicating with each other?

Sure, it's more interesting to go on the phone that talk to their family or friends :P More stimulating info ;)

This is the first time I've heard the word Phubbing. Interesting and I've learnt something new today. Keep up the good work !

Learning is half the battle :)

I still don't even have a cell phone, I know I would not be able to control myself...from Phubbing.

Good, phones are the devil :P

Ba hahahaa I totally heard that in The Waterboy's Mom's voice!

I got my first data phone ever like two years ago. Lucky for me, I get into more trouble ignoring my phone than ignoring others with my phone.

Sadly I am doing it now at Disney world.

Oh the irony.

Uh oh, someone's in trouble :P

I just read this for the first time ..
Very true this phubbing has been in the social life of society ..
Maybe I myself have never done that .. the bad effects .. we do not know each other in the real world.

things gone a be different now.thaanks for sharing.keep it up.hope everyone will be like on this post.keep going on your way

ow!!
but they were very helpful at that time..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57647.49
ETH 2274.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50