Drought at The Maashorst

in #photomag6 years ago

And the drought keeps on.

It is unbelievable, but the precipitation deficit in the Netherlands has risen to a record high of 300. From the past 100 years 2018 is already in the Top 5 of driest summers. The absolute record so far is still in the year 1976, but 2018 still has a chance to break this. Much depends on what happens in the month of August and September in terms of rainfall.

Because it can be called a 'rare natural phenomenon' I could not resist looking at a place that is close to my heart. The Maashorst in Schaijk (North Brabant). A beautiful nature reserve, where I grew up, as it were. A nature reserve where nature normally shows a lot of variety, and it is always wonderfully green.

Only, it looks so different. So weird ... it's dry, I expected that, of course. It is dry everywhere ... but that it would have such a great impact on the nature there. I guess, I wasn't that prepared to see this at all. I just did not expect it this way. It just looks surreal for me. A landscape like I don't know ... it's burnt, dry and dead ... Much trees are trying to survive, and have colors as if it is late autumn! And I can't help, but wonder what the consequences of this drought are.

Will our precious nature be good again next year? How many trees are really going to die? How much damage does this drought yield to nature? Can the wisents, Scottish highlanders and ponies that they put out there for grazing still find their food? Are they being fed?


Image from winter 2016

Is the heather plant still going to come in bloom or are they completely dead? Is it a beautiful purple plain full of flowering heather plants in a few weeks, or does it look even more sad than it looks right now?

So many questions, but the answers are not that easy. For the answers on some questions the only thing we can do is wait.

And eventually ... Time will tell!

Sort:  

It's so nice here that I want to sit down for a moment on this bench :)

Mother Nature always knows what to do.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks guys! Appreciated much!

What is going on...unbelievable, I know about the abnormal weather in parts in Europe, for example in Bulgaria we have one of the coldest and wettest summer for many years now...
What is bad for the tourism, all rains comes to the Balkans...I would like to share some of it with you, European solidarity!

Yeah it's nothing like normal, but when I go search on google I can see that in the netherlands this drought has come in previous years, but only 5 in 100 years. So it's really really extreme! So weird that in Bulgaria it's extremely wet and cold this summer. And yes it is bad for tourism ... but here it's also not that good for tourism, people are not used to this summers and temperatures ... so much people stay inside the house with an airco or a fan. I live in the neighbourhood of a small camping. But I rarely see people there now, where in previous years it always was busy.

Whoa, the world seems to be going through a rapid destruction as the years go by. I am currently living in Japan and records are being broken with all the heat that is present this year's summer. Thus far over 60 people have died from heatstroke and the numbers are still increasing. I read just today that in one area, the recording breaking temperature of 40 degrees celcius was recorded. We can only hope that things will get better.

Scary isn't it? The weather forcast for tomorrow says that in the coastal area's of the Netherlands it will become a 32 degrees! That means for the non-coastal areas the temperature can rise up above the 38 / 42 degrees celsius. Unknown in the Netherlands, and yes we have had very warm days in the past ... but not like this years summer, without the rain. It scares me to see this.

Scary indeed. The most we can do for now is try to stay hydrated.

Mother Nature always knows what to do.

Man, what a difference. Not in a good way though.. the pictures are quite cool but the reason it looks like that not.. I hope it will all grow back like it should.. but it looks so dead now..

It was kind of shocking to be there. I know this nature reserve so well, and always everyting is green, and in august / september the heather is blooming. But now, it all looks surreal, death and burnt ... I hope it's going te grow back. But I really don't know ... Guess I'll have to go back next spring to see what's happening.

Such a shame.. it looks like its indeed all dead and burned. Hope it will all grow back though..

fantastic atmosphere !! I really like all the pictures! Great work!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97