Adventure in Laos Resulting in Emergency Flip-Flop Repair! Part Two (16 adventure photos)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Continuing from where we left off in part one, I made it back down the muddy mountain side and decided to follow the stream. My map says it will lead me to another lagoon and some more caves.

On the way I see a beautiful caterpillar and a butterfly the size of a bird!

There's a break in the canopy. I look back at where I was earlier.

Soon the muddy stream meets a faster flowing stream with clear water. I see an opening across the way. This is what I'm looking for. Straight ahead is this little hill with a lagoon and cave inside; but I was staring straight at some nasty muddy flooded plains. I had to make a decision to walk through this mess or head back. It's been rainy lately, waters are high, and I've had snakes in the back of mind the entire day. I chose to play it safe and turn back again.

I continued down the fast moving combined stream. Something got caught on my flip-flop underwater. I soon had a repair to make. Fortunately I had the right tools for the job.

I then turned my razor on some garlic, ginger, chili and opened a can of tuna for breakfast on the stream bank. I noticed it wasn't buggy at all and there was a gentle breeze. I enjoyed my breakfast, it was probably 9:30am at this time.

With my flip-flop repaired and the sun rising I decided it would be best to turn back and try to get to my room by 11. The mid-day sun, heat, and humidity can be brutal in Laos. I soon found a trail heading in the direction of the road and quickly popped back out into the rice fields.

I followed the path back to the road, crossed the bridge, and got back by 11:00am.

What an adventure it was. Between the slick mud, the flooded fields, and the flip-flop; sometimes smart decisions have to be made on the fly. In the end I had another great morning in Vang Vieng Laos! If you like this post please view some of my others and consider following. Thank you! -Dan "World Travel Pro!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Super Foods #1: Pomelo in Laos!

Travel Tip #17: Turning Steem into Cash Around the World!

Travel Tip # 16: How to Plan a Long Term Travel Rout.

Adventure in Loas with my Korean Friend Mia!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Worthy of National geograpic!

Now that's a compliment! Thank you!

Great views I liked it very well if I were there

Great adventure photos! Thanks for bringing us along. :)

Thank you for posting this lovely moment in time for you. Followed...

Very cool! Thank you!

It surely look like such an adventure. I can totally relate, i am a flipflop person too.

Yeah, I was a big startled when it happend. As I had to walk back through the steam and everything. To do it barefoot would have been a whole other thing! Thanks for keeping up. -Dan

nice pics thank you for share.

Fantastic photography! I hope to see more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66