Adventure in Loas with my Korean Friend Mia!

in #travel7 years ago

One of my favorite things about traveling is meeting new and interesting people from around the world. Earlier this week, upon going for a walk I met Mia from South Korea. She was in Vang Vieng for the weekend and working on a project between the Korean and Laos governments that would help lift up impoverished communities in Laos. She asked where I was going and I showed her my map and explained I was planning on checking out a cave. Concerned about being unprepared in her dress, she decided to come along anyway!

We paid our 50 cent toll and crossed the river. We walked past old houses, cows, and rice fields looking for the stream that you follow to Khan Cave.

Great! There's a sign directing us where to go. We head down the road.

We found the stream and were met by a Laos girl and her brother who took a $1.50 entry fee to the cave trail. The young boy left with us to be our personal guide.

After following the stream for about 15 minutes we came to the cave. We went inside and helped each other through different parts. It was a little sketchy at times climbing over jagged rocks.

In the pitch dark we were able to take some photos with this Buddha behind us.

Our guide brought head lamps and we spent quite a bit of time exploring the different chambers.

In these photos you can see a big calcium stalactite forming from the ceiling.

It was fun sharing the afternoon and getting to know Mia. Our young guide was very friendly and we made sure to tip him generously. It was another great day in Vang Vieng Laos! If you like this post please view some of my others and consider following. Thank you! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Tip #17: Turning Steem into Cash Around the World!

Travel Tip # 16: How to Plan a Long Term Travel Rout.

Early Morning Adventure Exploring Caves in Vang Vieng Laos! Part One

Real Life Captured in Vang Vieng, Laos! (20 photos and historic description)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

Great Post! Travelling is our passion too,so here's our Upvote and Follow! We'll be waiting for more of your posts. How long you plan to travel for and where else you plan to go?

Thanks for your support. I have no plans to stop traveling. I'm heading back to Thailand in two days. I'll be traveling around there for a two month's then to Florida, then to Ecuador, then South America and I'm hoping to fly from Buenas Aired to Portugal next spring. I love meting other travelers. I'll go check out your blog now.

Hahaha, the youngest tour guide ever.
Looks like an amazing place, enjoy and keep sharing :)

Right, the kid is like 10. Thanks for checking in!

Laos look amazing, I have never though of traveling there.

Nice thank you so much! I'll go have a look at your blog.

great post! meeting people on your travels is the best thing about travelling (in my opinion).

Thanks buddy. I agree the people you meet are some of the best things about traveling.

So beautiful! Always nice to make a friend along the way. I really love caves. You're moving this part of the world up on my list. Did you go to caves here in belize? We have some amazing ones.

Thank you. I prefer this part of the world to central america. It's really a very healthy society in many ways all over asia. I did not go caving in Belize but I went to some cenotes in Playa del Carmen Mexico. That was awesome.

I really want to explore it more. I went to the Philippines many, many years ago, but that's all I've seen of South Asia.

Philippines is actually one of my least favorite countries in these parts. Go the Islands in Thailand. That's where it's at!

I did a service trip there. People were sweet, but I imagine I'd like Thailand better. My parents loved it.

Extremely well done travel post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53