Adventure in Laos Resulting in Emergency Flip-Flop Repair! Part One

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I headed out early the other day looking for more wild Laos to explore! I left at 6:00am as the sun was rising to avoid the mid-day heat. The plan was to cross to the other side of the river, cut through some rice fields, find the trail to a couple caves and lagoons, and see if I can find my way back to civilization. Turns out I had a bit more of an adventure than I bargained for!

As I cross the bridge I look to my right to see this beautiful hot air balloon.

I soon find the sign I was looking for and begin to cut my way through the rice fields.

I soon enter deep vegetation and quickly notice the slick muddy clay jungle floor.

As I continued the slope of the trail increased and so did the slick clay mud.

At this point I decided this was no place for flip-flops so I put my shoes back on after taking them off earlier to cross a stream.

I continued on while closely assessing the situation with the muddy terrain. The shoes made it better but I was alone and if something happened it would be bad news. As I went further the trail got steeper and more dangerous.

The trail soon turned into muddy rock climbing, where a fall would mean serious injury in the least. Using the 3 points of contact climbing rule I'm generally confident; but when everything is covered in slick muddy clay it was enough to turn me back. I scraped the mud off my shoes and slowly and carefully made my way back down the trail.

Before reaching the stream I crossed earlier, I was able to catch a photo of this beautiful snail.

I put my flip-flops back on and started walking down the stream. According to my map it would take me to some fields that I could traverse to a lagoon and other caves.

Avoiding potential disaster from the muddy trail things still stayed on the sketchy side. Check back tomorrow and see how the rest of my adventure went including my emergency flip-flop repair! If you like this post please view some of my others and consider following. Thank you! -Dan "World Travel Pro!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Super Foods #1: Pomelo in Laos!

Travel Tip #17: Turning Steem into Cash Around the World!

Travel Tip # 16: How to Plan a Long Term Travel Rout.

Adventure in Loas with my Korean Friend Mia!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

I support your story. Have a nice day :)

What a gorgeous place! I love the sign :) Glad you made it out safely. Upvoted, resteemed, and tweeting.

Thanks Sharon! I did make it out safely but that's a give a ways for part two! lol Are you traveling for a Visa Run tomorrow? If I remember correctly..... I'm at a cafe now, soon to the airport flying back to Bangkok then to Ko Samet.

No! I'm still here and going on Oct 31 instead. I did the extension this week. I was thinking you were on your way back soon. Maybe we can get together. When are you here?

Be sure to wear black or dark respectful clothes. My neighborhood just went way black for the month. I'm not sure what it will be like in the tourist areas. The full moon party is cancelled where ever that takes place. It's amazing to see my local friends change all their fb profiles to black today. Sad times ahead.

I'm wearing black right now! I'm excited to be heading back to Thailand. It's a way better country in many many ways. Not saying Laos is bad, Thailand just has A LOT more going on.

So I land about 6:15 tonight in Don Meung. There are plenty of decent hotel options in Sutthisan where you are. So I'm going to take a bus directly there and try to make deal for....LA Tower has a swimming pool, only 20 dollars a night. So we'll see. I'll message you when I'm settled in. If all goes well, maybe we can get together tonight. Not sure if I'm leaving the city tomorrow or going to stay two nights. Would be cool to have meet up again! Got to hop on the plane now!

Really a professional in taking photos. You are wonderful friends

Good post! I’m sure you will continue to shoot more.

Thanks firepower. You're support is not only appreciated, it's needed from Minnow to Dolphin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33