Fae Child Fantasy Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

faechild7.jpg

I did not have this shoot planned. I was out taking pictures of sea shells at my local lake for book covers yesterday afternoon. I have been to this lake a million times, but because of the time of year I was able to see this little spot that was so perfect for photos. Usually it must be overgrown with bushes and not visible.

faechild2.jpg

I decided to bring my kids there after dinner for a shoot. My youngest daughter is 7 and LOVES Kin Fables. If you don't know what that is stop reading this dinky little post and youtube it. AMAZING! So she was interested in doing something with that sort of aesthetic. I put my new favorite wig on her, I think she resembles the character Aisling from The Secret of Kells with it on.

especially in this final edit from my previous post: https://steemit.com/photography/@wildempress/how-to-add-wind-blown-hair
faechild.jpg

Working with a 7 year old can be fun and challenging. Granted my kids have had a camera in their face since they were born so they are comfortable in front of the camera. If you haven't worked with kids before, I highly suggest you try it at least once.

faechild4.jpg

A lot of the poses and ideas are her own. Once she is inspired she basically gets into character and starts playing pretend. I am just there to capture it.

faechild1.jpg

I really love these images, but it's more than that because they are my kids. We experience this together. My youngest is photographed here, but son was helping out as a sort of assistant, and my oldest daughter was modeling in other photos at the same time...the aesthetic was a bit different so I am keeping them separate. We experience this together as a family. I am not just taking pictures, I am making their childhood memories. I always say I hope my kids like their childhood, because I take so many pictures they will not be able to forget it.

faechild3.jpg

I wish I could have done this when I was 7! I remember being a kid and playing pretend, this is what it was like in my head! Now I make it real with photoshop!

faechild6.jpg

The goose and the bunny are Photoshopped in. I don't work with animals. I will take pictures of them in the wild and use them in composite but a shoot trying to wrangle children and animals sounds like a nightmare to me.

faechild5.jpg

The header image with the bunny is my favorite. What's yours?

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

The 2nd one has got to be a fave of mine. She looks so mysterious and ready to bolt as it seems we stumbled upon a magical realm and saw her when she least expected it.

I wish I had your eye for photography.

Hey Mave. Surprised to see you here! We usually run into each other on Asher's league, but hardly elsewhere. :)

I just met @wildempress and quite impressed with her photography work.

As the HR guy of @promo-mentors I make it a point to check the profile and posts of new members.

Good to know what they write about so I can provide better assistance in answering Thier queries or directing them to a mentor.

Besides need to get my comments on so that I can break into the top ten again ahahha.

I can't get left behind by the ABC's of curation and Dave!

Glad you stopped by @maverickinvictus. I enjoy chatting with @wildempress and her photography work is impressive! Sadly, she is not a newbie so not much we can do on our end but happy you guys are able to help with mentoring.

This 'booster' factor of the ABC's of curation is too tired these days to engage much. The pesky stuff we call life and work being in the way of steemit time. ;)

I'm hoping we don't make it to the top 10 this week (for beeyou acct, not the @newbieresteemday acct). My teammate accidentally self-voted twice (he did undo right away), but I definitely don't want that glaring fact highlighted up there on Asher's engagement league. Hehe.

Have a great day over there!

Thank you, yes kinda like maybe she’ll transform and jump into the water!

As the HR guy of @promo-mentors I make it a point to check the profile and posts of new members.

Good to know what they write about so I can provide better assistance in answering Thier queries or directing them to a mentor.

Besides need to get my comments on so that I can break into the top ten again ahahha.

I can't get left behind by the ABC's of curation and Dave!

If you come across any fantasy genre photographers please let me know!! 😉

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:39:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.45/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Interesting pictures, I really like the concept. Upvoted! and Following, to see more of Your works! Have a good day!

I love it, so magical, fae child

Wow, this is really amazing work!!! I hardly know what to say, I'd be tripping over my own words...

Very cool imagery!
Well done, and she's perfect for this shoot!

She is, she’s got a little wild spirit

Hey, here is that windblown hair sideview look! :) I can definitely see the fae child portrayed here. Maybe with these photos, your daughter might make it to the book cover and give your son some competition.

I'm glad your work is starting to get recognition. You really are talented!

She really liked this ‘character’ and has been bugging me to do it again so maybe this while far child will turn into a thing. I’d like to do it on a cloudy moody day though... I struggled with too much light for this shoot.

Is it better to take photos on a cloudy day? I have a photography friend who shot my wedding photos and she preferred cloudy days over a sunny sky too.

She played the character very well!

Generally speaking yes cloudy days have more even lighting. Less hard shadows and I have a preference for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53